This year, I’m Grinch.

I’m not really into the Christmas season this year, and I haven’t really been in a few years. It used to mean something to me on a deeper level, but now I can’t look past all the haste for gift purchasing and ridiculous ads everywhere. Maybe as I’ve grown older, I’ve become more cynical of the mere consumerism associated with the holiday, but maybe not. Maybe I just don’t really like Christmas?

That can’t be true. I used to LOVE Christmas. I used to want Christmas to come sooner and last longer just so that I could revel in the feeling of it all. Now I’m so unbelievably broke that I can’t afford to buy anybody in my family gifts, which makes me feel even worse about the holiday.

Not to make this post a real downer, but I just can’t seem to snap out of my everyday thing. I would rather listen to Incubus than Bing Crosby. I don’t own a Christmas tree. I probably know every carol in the book, but I don’t go out singing.

Really, I feel Christmas on Christmas. It’s when all of my family comes together to eat, drink, and be merry. I love that aspect of Christmas. I can listen to Christmas music on that day.

There was something about the Christmas in the Village event that did spark a feeling. I watched these little kids sitting on Santa’s lap whispering into his ear.  Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 8.46.28 PM

I saw them smile. Seeing that reminded me of the joy that comes with the holiday. People tend to be nicer, smile more, obviously give gifts. I wish it were that way year round.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

