Publishing my first story

Screen Shot 2013-06-05 at 4.52.29 PMHey everyone,

The first assignment I received was about an armed bank robbery.  Sounds interesting from the title alone.  Let me tell you.  Making my first story was quite intense for me. I had just three days to get everything done: gather interviews, get solid and appropriate footage, and edit before it was time to turn it in.  Just three days for my first ever story.  I know the pros can finish them within 30 minutes, so I have a lot of work to do to get even better.

Gathering just the right footage and contact the right people for a good story seems to be something that I’m having some difficulty with.  This should be expected, after all I am an intern and picked up a broadcast quality camera for the first time just two weeks ago.  This is a learning process and I hope for those who do watch it, you’ll appreciate all of the hard work that goes into making a product here at HOMTV.  We the interns are trying like mad to grow and become better professionals.

Back to the story though.  The armed robbery story was slightly confusing for me.  Around the HOMTV viewing area there is a village called Williamston along with a separate Williamstown Township.  One of the bank robberies occurred in Williamstown Township, but not Williamston.  Weird.   Not only that but three people were involved, but only two of them are part of the 2nd armed robbery while the third person is apart of both.  It will be interesting to see what happen to these three people.

Check out the story here: http://homtv.net/index.asp?view=news&news_id=3161

About Joe Gebhardt

Recent graduate of Central Michigan University.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

