BEHIND THE SCENES – Celebrating Downtown Okemos

Covering the 5th annual Celebrate Downtown Okemos event was my first assignment. I was extremely nervous, but shortly after arriving I met Tycho the “dog,” who reminded me not to take life too seriously.  Image

It was a lot more fun and a lot less scary than I anticipated. I enjoyed capturing local artist like Okemos High School student Taylor Taylor perform. Image

A celebration is never complete without kettle corn…at least in my opinion. The gentlemen running the kettle corn booth showed me how to make my favorite treat and gave me a freshly popped bag to remember my experience.Image

Local artists showed off a variety of unique art work at the event. I had the pleasure to meet Steve, who travels the world seeking inspiration for his paintings.Image

I also stumbled upon a jewelry booth. This artist hand crafted each one of her pieces. Her color combinations and attention to detail were remarkable and if I wasn’t so busy filming the event I would have come home with a lot less money than I brought.Image

I had a blast getting to interview and meet people and admire the talents of local artists of all kinds. I am hoping I didn’t have “beginners luck” with this assignment, because I am more excited than ever to cover more stories!

See the full coverage of the event on HOMTV’s Meridian News Now Thursday! I hope you enjoy my first story!

This entry was posted in Haslett, Meridian, Meridian Township, Okemos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BEHIND THE SCENES – Celebrating Downtown Okemos

  1. tychoaussie says:

    You’re doing a great job. I’m glad you are enjoying summer here in our township!

Leave a Reply

