Roadkill promo? Sad panda.

I know it isn’t the term that the organization likes to use, but I essentially had to make a promo about what to do if you see a dead animal in the road. I love animals, and I’ve only ever run over an animal once. It was a raccoon when I was 20 and I had to pull over and cry for a few minutes. I know, I know, it’s silly. So when I was assigned this promo I hoped with my entire being that I wouldn’t have to get footage of roadkill. Luckily, there was footage from a previous VOSOT. I went to work on the audio and bam-boom, I now have my fifth promo on the air for HOMTV. šŸ™‚

I cranked this one out! I was very proud of myself.

I also had to visit Cornell Road for the first time on Monday because I was assigned Roll-Ins for the Planning Commission meeting. The discussion item included the destruction of the wetlands with one of the proposals and the Jeffries Drain area, so I needed actual footage of the wetlands instead of just the road. We already have a ton of footage of the road because they’ve been discussing the issues included in repaving it. They finally decided on a compromise on Tuesday at the Township Board meeting, so that will be a great change! I expected Cornell Road to be slightly different. First of all, it is a small road. I expected it to be wider, or at least have any kind of way to pull over to the side of the road. To get my footage, I had to park my car. So I drove down the road (at a much slower speed than 45 miles per hour, I had no idea where I was going!) and looked for my location. After driving up and down the road, I found my location. Now the trouble was finding a place to park…. I didn’t want to block anyone’s driveway by parking in it, so I was forced to maneuver my car onto the grassy area on the side of the road. Not fun. As I set up my equipment, I realized why this road had become such a hot topic of discussion. It is a beautiful road, obviously, but the road definitely needs a repaving. And cars have such limited visibility in places that I personally cannot believe that the speed limit is as high as it is. I almost was run over many times! But I am proud of the shots I ended up getting, which included an AWESOME rack focus. Winning.

Cornell Road definitely deserves the title of Natural Beauty Road.

Until next time,

Kelsey

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

