Finally Getting Back in the Saddle…

In my first blog post, I included a photo of me with my horse before he died.  I made it almost 11 months before getting back in the saddle, this time for a story I was assigned.  My assignment?  Riding and showing horses in Meridian Township.  Don’t get me wrong, I was super excited for it, but a little nervous since I have never done any reporting.  I actually did a stand up for this one, however, Final Cut decided I shouldn’t have it and failed in the middle of the upload.  I still had the footage of the horse show I had just shot, but the standup on a horse?  Gone.  Long gone.  And I leave for vacation this week.  So, no more stand up on a horse.  It was nice to finally get back on though.  This story definitely forced me to realize just how much I miss riding and that I seriously need to get back in it.

I am proud of this story.  I think it could have been better, but since it was my first one, I’m just glad I was able to have the opportunity to do it!  That said, I am a bit of a perfectionist, so of course I would have liked a few things to be better.  But I was finally back home, around horses and at a horse show (the 2013 Ingham County Fair to be specific) and I loved it.  I guess the big thing is, if you really love something, get back in the saddle and don’t wait forever to do it, otherwise you’ll really miss out on something great.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

