Sharing a story close to my heart

In October 2008, I received some of the worst news of my life. I remember being in my bedroom when my dad came down stairs and told me my 20 year old cousin Hilary had passed away. She had been dealing with addiction for many years before she moved out to California with her husband. Her death was the first time I lost someone close to me, so it was one of the hardest things me and my sister ever went through together. Since that day I vowed to never ever mess around with narcotics. 
When I heard about Phil Pavona and his story about Eric, I could sympathize and understand some of the things he must have felt when his son Eric passed away. The confusion, sadness, and helplessness of losing someone so young can be unbearable. When I interviewed him in his home, there were many times when I was fighting back tears remembering everything my cousin went through and hearing what him and his family experienced while dealing with courts, rehab, hospitals, and therapy. I am honored to share his story with the community so that people who are going through this don’t feel alone.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

