Active Shooter Sensitivity

This week I was assigned to a story in which absolutely NO ONE wanted to talk to me about. I like to call my sources earlier in the week, to ensure that I am allowing enough time for myself to get things done. 

High School plans for active shooter situations. I cannot tell you how many principals, assistant principals I called/emailed to speak to me regarding this issue. No one wanted to talk about this. 

It is honestly the most frustrating thing when sources don’t call you back. In a way, I find it rude. Unfortunately though, there is nothing you can do, just move on to the next. I decided to take the story at a different angle. My friend Katelyn is an assistant teacher at a school in Lansing, so I decided to get her take on things. So, it all worked out…..IT ALWAYS DOES.

I saw this *funny* article about journalists. I couldn’t believe how ON POINT it was. Absolutely amazing. Here is the link: http://www.newscastic.com/news/20-problems-journalists-deal-with-on-daily-basis-1465126/ 

Definitely take a look if you would like to see the struggles that happen on a daily basis for people like me. 

I also did a short story on what to do to prepare for the ice and snow to melt. While making sure I look presentable for interviews and going outside to film water, snow, and sleet, I found myself wearing rain boots with a dress. These are the sorts of things you have to do when you’re a Multi-Media Journalist. 

Image

 

 

Oh, and did I mention I stood outside for at least an hour filming a stand-up to go back into my car to find out that I wasn’t even framed in the shot? Image

HOW AWESOME IS THAT?! It wasn’t a few hours ago, but now I can laugh about it. 

Keep pushing through, never give up, and don’t let anyone or anything get in the way of pursuing your dreams. Stay positive.

 

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

