My Attitude: Alzheimer’s &Ambition

I recently did a story on caregivers who help those physically and or mentally unable to DSC02512care for themselves. I interviewed Judy McQueen, an advocate for the Alzheimer’s Association as she has taken care of her husband with the disease for about 15 years.

Judy hugged me after our interview… I’m not sure if I have been covering too many government stories or the fact I had only met her an hour before…but I was a little stunned by the gesture – like she really embraced me and I hugged her right back.

Losing my memory is my biggest fear. Judy wakes up to her husband of 20+ years every day unsure of what he’ll remember, but her attitude is her most resilient strength and had me in awe. I want to be like Judy.

You can meet Judy and watch the story here.

*In the very last shot of the picture of Judy and her husband, you will hear Judy laugh. She is laughing because when she pushed her husband by my camera in his wheelchair he looked at me and said, “You’re cute.” I fought hard not to laugh too.

On another note..

I am happy to say the life of a student athlete has allowed me to transition effortlessly into the world as a reporter. There is no better prerequisite into this field. For four and a half years I woke up (way too early) with a schedule that required me to physically and mentally push my limits and willingness to be uncomfortable in order to become comfortable again every single day.

Practices, lifting, individual practices, film, medical treatments, team meetings, team building exercises, nutrition meetings, a full course load, games every weekend, 8+ hour bus rides to and from, eating, studying, academic check-ins, volunteering, everyday chores, some sleeping and a member of journalism groups on campus were the every day norm for almost five years. A few journalism professors even questioned whether or not it would work the very first day I walked into their classrooms covered in ice bags and smelling like my goalkeeping gear.B1G Champs

“It’s not that you didn’t have the time to get things done, it’s that you didn’t make the time.” Shawn Cassidy, “The Old Man”

“Just because you are physically exhausted does not mean you are mentally exhausted. It’s important to know the difference”- Eric Bean, “Bean Man”

Whether you’ve developed Alzheimer’s or a drive to succeed your attitude about the process is the most important thing of all.

Joyfully,

Molly

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

