My first two weeks

Hey everyone!

My name is Erica Francis. I am proud to say that I am one of HOMTV’s newest rookie interns for the summer!This summer I will have the opportunity to report on numerous Meridian Township activities, while informing the residents of Haslett, Okemos, and Meridian on the happenings in their community. 

About me

ImageImageImage

I am a 21-year-old who has had my dreams set since I was a freshman at West Ottawa High School. Being on television has always been a big dream of mine, and I haven’t stopped working to make that dream come true. When it comes to television broadcasting, I am a very dedicated, hard-working individual who truly understands that in order to succeed in life, one must fail first. I will never throw away my dreams, no matter how many people tell me “no”.

 

School Living

I am now a senior at Central Michigan University, where free time doesn’t usually exist. Up at school, I am the President of Alliance for Women in Media, I am a sports reporter for Central Michigan University Athletics, I report for Central’s award winning news station, News Central 34, I am a member of the Delta Zeta Sorority, and if that wasn’t enough, I work as a waitress at a local bar and grille. During my time at CMU, I was fortunate enough to expand my knowledge in global reporting as I studied abroad in Singapore. It was an incredible experience that I will never forget. 

Image

Goals

My ultimate dream job would be to be a girl version of Anderson Cooper. I would love to travel the world and help give those who don’t have a voice (not literally) a chance to speak up on global issues. I really enjoy editing footage, story telling, and putting together feature stories that spotlight a specific person or group of people. Although I know I will have to work my way up in this industry, I’m ready to work hard day in and day out to achieve to my ultimate goal.

Why I chose HOMTV

Now being a senior in college, I knew that my last internship had to be great. I needed to choose an internship that would provide me with real world experience, be able to critique my work, give me a chance to add to my demo reel, help me learn from my mistakes, improve my writing, and improve my editing and camera skills.And boy am I lucky because HOMTV gives me all of that and more. Prior to HOMTV, I interned at City of Holland TV, 95.3 WCFX Radio, Fox 2 News and Ignition Media Group. All of these internships have prepared me for HOMTV. I can’t wait for what is in store this summer at HOMTV. I have already met such great people and I have learned so many new things!  

Image

Thanks for reading, I will update soon! 

Please visit my Facebook page for more updates throughout the semester!

https://www.facebook.com/HOMTVEricaFrancis

 

About ericafrancisnews

My name is Erica Francis. I am a student at Central Michigan University looking to live out my dream as a news reporter. I grew up in Holland Michigan, but I have traveled the world. My favorite quote "Dreams don't work unless you do" Motivated. Dedicated. Hardworking. Lover. RiskTaker I won't stop until I reach the top. Lover of singing, dancing, acting, interviewing, and smiling. Past intern at --- City of Holland TV 95.3 WCFX Mt. Pleasant Fox 2 News Ignition Media Group Next stop....L.A
This entry was posted in Meridian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

