First Day Jitters

  homtv    You know that nervous feeling you got the night before the first day of school? Unable to sleep and thinking about the new year, new friends, teachers and experiences? You want people to adore you but while also gaining the respect as a responsible and extraordinary student… right? Well that has been my experience thus far at HomTV as a reporting intern. We were all (28) thrown in together to begin a summer journey where we quickly became a family with similar goals.

Before I get ahead of myself, I want to step back for a second and give you the “in” on who I really am. My name is April Jones and I’m a journalism senior at Michigan State University. I grew up in Rochester, Michigan with my father, mother, and two older brothers. My brothers named me after the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle cartoon reporter April O’Neil and ever since I could remember, I’ve been trying to follow in her steps. I went from writing and sharing my own made up stories as a child and slowly matured and found my passion in gathering real facts and wanting to share the news with the world.

com parkronmsu

Even though my heaven on Earth is located in Comerica Park (Go Tigers!) in Detroit, my dream job would be to work for the Rolling Stone hosting a weekly show (it doesn’t exist yet, but I’ll work on that).  For now, with the help of HOMTV staff, I hope to get an entertainment show back up and running.

I’m extremely excited to get to know my fellow interns better. This whole experience so far has been scary, stressful at times ( the extensive start-off checklist ), but most importantly it’s been an incredible adventure that I know will only get better. It’s always a little frightening when you’re jumped into a new pool of people who expect you to do your best, make friends, while also constantly showing your employers why they took a chance in you, but so far, I think I’m doing ok.

I”m looking forward to see what I will accomplish during the summer semester here. I can’t wait to build a closer connection with everyone while doing what I love best.

Stay tuned!

About jonesapril92

April Jones is a senior at Michigan State studying broadcasting journalism. She aspires to be an entertainment and or political reporter in her near future. In her free time, she enjoys attending concerts with her friends, baking, and anything outdoors. Her dream would be to convince The Rolling Stone that they need her to start an on-air entertainment show featuring her. Eventually she would love to host her own daytime show. "All dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them." - Walt Disney.
This entry was posted in Meridian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

