Mic Check, 1…2…3…

Hello all! My name is Hannah Cook, and I am one of the new production interns at HOMTV this summer! I am a senior at Michigan State University, majoring in Media and Information, with a concentration in TV, Cinema, and Radio. I’m originally from Farmington Hills, where I grew up as the youngest in the family. I have an older brother and older sister, both U of M alumni, which makes me the rebel in the family.

That's me! And my dog Lily.

That’s me! And my dog Lily

If I’m being honest, which I usually try to be, I’m pretty new to this whole field of media. I just decided on my current major this past year, so I’m still getting used to everything that the program has to offer. I spent my first two years of college as a Fisheries and Wildlife major, which was pretty exciting as well. I love to be outside, and I’m a very hands-on learner, so it was a good fit for me in those aspects. I even took a field class last summer, and worked at a wildlife sanctuary, where I got to do hands-on work with a lot of animals.

Baby fox!

Baby fox!

My buddy Maggie!

My buddy Maggie!

h pic 4

Birding during my field class.

While I loved working with those animals, I found that I wasn’t getting much of an outlet for my creativity. My brain had all these ideas, but no way to make them into a reality! That’s when I started thinking about switching majors. I searched through the University’s list of programs and I finally came to Media and Information. As I was reading through it, I started to get really excited about the classes I would be taking, and what I would be learning. My heart was officially set on switching over. This brings me to my junior year, taking all of the introductory media classes. I was finally settling in, and it felt great. I was really connecting with the content in my classes, and I was actually excited about going to school. Who knew, right?

I am really stoked to be at HOMTV this summer because, from what I’ve experienced so far, everyone here is willing to teach you anything you want to know. No matter if you come in as a production, promotion, reporting, or social media intern, you have the opportunity to learn and do as much as you want. Having those kinds of opportunities available to me was the reason I decided to apply here in the first place! Although these first couple of weeks have been overwhelming, I am having so much fun learning! I’ve already had the chance to operate the audio for a live show, which was fun, exciting, and mildly terrifying all at the same time!

Running audio for Meridian News Now.

Running audio for Meridian News Now.

In the future, I hope to work with a production company that handles big blockbuster films, or television shows! I think production on a huge scale like that would be one of the most amazing things to be a part of. After college, my first step (hopefully) is moving out to California! Santa Monica, to be exact. There are several internships out there that I would love to take part in, and maybe I could even squeeze a real job out of one! I know that I have a long way to go from here, but I think that HOMTV is going to give me the starting experience that I need to get myself on the right path.

Well that’s all for now! I can’t wait to update everyone on my progress with this internship. If you want to keep up with me outside of this blog, you can check me out on Twitter! I’m sure I’ll have a lot more to ramble about as the weeks go by. You’ll be hearing from me again shortly!

~ Hannah

About hannahtcook

Videographer. Editor. Production intern at HOMTV 21. East Lansing, Michigan.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

