Only the Beginning

Ahoy there great people of Haslett, Okemos, and Meridian, my name is Jon Austin and I am excited to share this journey at HOMtv with you!

PROD jonathon austinWell, I guess to begin with I should probably give you guys some perspective as to who I am.

I grew up in Rochester, Michigan and went to school close to home at Oakland University for a couple of years, transferring to Michigan State for my junior year.  Oakland was great, but I wanted to experience life away from the comforts of home.   I am headed into my fifth year at MSU trying to nab a degree in Media and Information with a concentration in TV, Cinema, and Radio.  When I tell people I’m a Media and Information major most of them have absolutely no idea what I’m talking about and in the beginning I wasn’t quite sure how to explain it to them.  So now I just say Television/Film production, since that’s mainly what I would like to do in the future.  I’ve always loved watching TV and movies, so why not work on them for a living? At least that was my mindset while deciding to change my major from Journalism to Media and Information and I think it paid off.  I am really happy with where I’m at and I finally feel like I’m on the right track.

Anyway, now I’m a production intern here at HOMtv and it’s great! I’m like an almost functioning adult. Everyone is super cool and nice and I feel like I’m apart of something very unique.  It’s only been three weeks and I’ve already learned a lot, I can’t imagine what I’ll know in three months.  This internship is a big responsibility but I’m looking forward to tackling everything it brings my way and soaking up all of the information that I can.

I’m not sure what the future will hold for me but I hope to one day work in television.  Working on films would be great, but I really enjoy the dynamics of multi-cam production.  I have a strong interest in the NBA and basketball in general so if I could land a gig at a station like NBATV, well, that would be just dandy. I also would love to work on a sitcom of some sort or for one of the late night talk shows. I have always been a big Conan O’brien fan. Working for him would be a dream come true. 

I guess we’ll see where the road takes me. This is only the beginning.  I’ll let you guys know how it goes!

About austin62

I am a senior at Michigan State University where I will be graduating in December of 2014. My major is Media and Information with a concentration in Radio/TV/Cinema. I am a lover of all things film and television and hope to land a job somewhere in the industry. Working for shows like Breaking Bad or The Office, or working for a station like NBATV or Turner Broadcasting would be a dream. I have come to HOMtv to further develop my media production abilities as well as find out what I enjoy the most about media production. I am originally from Rochester, MI where I attended Oakland University for two years before deciding to make the switch to MSU. I wasn't quite sure I had made the right decision in switching schools. It wasn't until I settled into my major that I began to appreciate what MSU was offering me. I am not sure where I will end up after my time here at HOMtv as well as graduation, but one thing is for sure, I will be doing something that I love.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

