What happened after May 12th, 2014

Hi everyone, my name is Yiran Zhao, but I go by Joy. I am one of the new social media interns here at HOMTV for Summer 2014, and after the first few weeks, I have a feeling that this Summer will be exciting and memorable.

Last week I went on my first assignment — taking photos at the “Dedication Ceremony for the Sugar Maple Tree/Yousun Lee Memorial”!

Yousun Lee MemorialThe Lee family came from Korea, and are here at the Harris Nature Center in memory of their daughter who passed away. A sugar maple tree was planted for Yousun Lee, who loved Michigan’s nature.

When I first got the assignment from Andrea, I was confused how I should take the photos. Though I have learned photojournalism and am professional at it, I still am a rookie, and I wondered how different it would be — in class and in the “real world.”

I asked for suggestions, from Andrea, Rob, and Brandie. They trusted me very much and allowed me to decide how I wanted to take the photos. I have to admit I was nervous, and I decided to do it the photojournalist way.

I packed my camera, checked the battery and SD card, and prepared a second lens just in case. I wore the HOMTV T-shirt, had my badge ready, and got a notebook and pen in my pocket. It wasn’t a long drive, but I still arrived at least half an hour early. But when I got there, senior production intern Bryan was already there talking to another person attending the ceremony and had his video camera all set. Oh my! He arrived earlier than I did! I guess I will have to arrive even earlier for my next assignment. I have to admit, as a rookie, learning from junior and senior interns in the field was a quick way. I introduced myself, and followed Bryan around, also making sure that I won’t be in his shots and he won’t be in mine. The position was on a hill, and the sun made the situation a back light, but we both moved with our cameras around quite a lot times to get the best shots we can.

Yousun Lee Memorial

 

Though the memorial was sad and Yousun Lee’s mother always had a family photo in her hand, she still showed a smile under the sunshine, and I’m glad I was able to captured that moment.

Yousun Lee Memorial

There goes my first photography assignment, and I enjoyed it!

Never be afraid to ask questions and make the most out of this experience.

 

 

About JoyZhao

Diversity within myself Japan, USA, China
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

