Here I go Again…

Well it was another fun week here at HOMTV as the first half of us got to cover our first board meeting. I was part of crew for this one, so I got to fun camera’s and do some nifty folding of some pamphlets. IMG_1015

Set up was a breeze thisIMG_1018 week because we had set up most of the equipment the night before at our live production workshop, but it didn’t occur without some issues. The podium mic was being lame so we had to switch that out. However, everything turned out just fine as 6 p.m rolled around and that gavel sounded.IMG_1016

On my first rotation of the night I got the excitement of starting on break (oh the things I have to go through). This involved folding a bunch of pamphlets while talking about all the important things, ya know, like the NBA and NHL play-offs.

Half an hour later it was my turn to do some live shooting as I stepped up to Camera 1 and began my learning process. The goal is to get shots in 3 seconds…yeah that’s definitely still a work in progress. But I did get a “good job camera one,” at one point from the director so I must have been doing something right.

As the meeting went on, I went through rotations of break, engineer, then I finished on Camera 4. After the meeting ended we went as quickly as we could to set up the post script show. Since I was on Camera 4, it was my duty to cue the host when he was on for the interview segment.

IMG_1017Well, this is where things went a little wrong again as (for reasons I didn’t really know) they started on Camera 2, so I had to do my best to let the host know that minor change. After that though, things settled down and the show went off without another hitch. It was a really fun learning experience and I know I’ll get better in time.

With the second meeting of the week getting canceled I got to enjoy a nice night off full of soccer, mosquito bites, and one dislocated knee. Time to grab that ice and prepare for my first HOMTV stories next week. Should be fun.

About homtvdan

I am a recent Michigan State University graduate and aspiring journalist. Sports are my true passion and I hope to one day achieve a career in sports journalism or entertainment. Before that though, I have to perfect my skills which I work at each and every day.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

