Enough with the biting

I would have to say I’m not a violent person, but if you bite me you have another thing coming.

Now of course I’m talking about MOSQUITOES and if you were thinking otherwise that just means I’m improving on writing teases.

Anyhow, I decided to dedicate my second blog to all of the lovely mosquitoes who attacked me half to death this week while shooting footage.

Day 1: Monday morning 12 p.m

I went out to shoot some footage for my story on the Vegetation Ordinance. I had to capture some video of trees, power lines, and tree stumps. So casually I drove into a forest-like neighborhood, grabbed my camera and tripod and started shooting.

Luckily for me I had about 20 camera men that wanted to help me out. But rather than having two legs, two arms, and all of the other stuff a human is supposed to have…these camera men were sucking my blood!

Okay, I’m being dramatic, but in all honestly I got out of the car and was swarmed by mosquitoes. It was nearly impossible to get my shot without moving the camera because I kept bumping the camera each time I would swat one of those nasty creatures away.

Day 2 Wednesday morning, 1 p.m

Trustee Milton Scales walks into the township building for our scheduled interview, I direct him outside, set up and begin the interview.

During the interview, Trustee Scales was literally engulfed in mosquitoes and I honestly felt so bad because he was being attacked but I didn’t want to mess up the interview.Finally Mr. Scales asked if we could re-shoot it inside and boy was I glad he asked to re-do it because…I FORGOT MY HEADPHONES (rookie mistake I know) The interview ended up going great and I was very pleased with my very first assignment at HOMTV.

On to the rest of the week! Creating my very first package!

Tuesday morning I went to the Capitol building to interview Randy Richardville. Wow, was it the most amazing reporting experience I have ever had. I experienced beautiful office buildings and even got to look inside the actual Senate while they were deliberating a new bill. Everyone I met was so kind and extremely helpful.

Thursday morning I finished up my two other interviews for my package. They both went fantastic and it was great interacting with community members and experiencing how real world reporters work every day. The first three weeks at HOMTV have been even more than I ever expected. I’m looking forward to live reporting tomorrow at the Township board meeting!

Before I go though, I would love for everyone to check out my recent package!

Thanks for reading 🙂

http://homtv.net/index.asp?view=news&news_id=4445

About ericafrancisnews

My name is Erica Francis. I am a student at Central Michigan University looking to live out my dream as a news reporter. I grew up in Holland Michigan, but I have traveled the world. My favorite quote "Dreams don't work unless you do" Motivated. Dedicated. Hardworking. Lover. RiskTaker I won't stop until I reach the top. Lover of singing, dancing, acting, interviewing, and smiling. Past intern at --- City of Holland TV 95.3 WCFX Mt. Pleasant Fox 2 News Ignition Media Group Next stop....L.A
This entry was posted in Meridian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

