Standby For Miscue!

With our rookie workshops in the review mirror, this week marked essentially our first real week at HOMtv. We were split into two crews so some of us were assigned field assignments and others worked the town hall meetings. I had the opportunity to work the town hall meetings this week. I was a little nervous if I’m being honest. I got assigned to work camera 1 right off the bat. Camera 1 is a pretty pivotal camera to be operating at the start of each meeting. Who ever is at camera 1 has to count down and cue the on air talent. Sounds pretty easy right? Well, let me tell you that it actually was kind of easy but that doesn’t mean I didn’t feel like peeing my pants and that my stomach was less like a stomach and more like some sort of butterfly exhibit. Everything was okay though kind of, I thankfully did not pee my pants and their weren’t actual butterflies in my stomach. When we were 10 seconds away from going live, I yelled out “Standby!” very awkwardly and proceeded to countdown Ali and give her her cue. Well, after mis cueing her a couple times and frantically trying to convey to her that I had mis cued her, we finally got it down on the third try. Third times a charm, right? Eeeeyeahh, let’s just say good thing Ali new what she was doing because otherwise it could have made for some very awkward television. But Ali did great! Which in turn means I did great! So thanks Ali, for making us look great! Other than that almost debacle, the meeting ran very smoothly and it was a surprisingly good time. I was almost disappointed that the meeting on Wednesday was cancelled, almost. We also didn’t have to come in on Thursday, which was a nice surprise too. So really we only worked one meeting this week, but it was the best meeting. I’m excited to see how the next one will go.

I also worked audio for Meridian News Now this week. It was similar to the feeling I had while working camera 1 at the town hall meeting. I think I did alright though. I was really only responsible for raising and lowering Joe’s mic and making sure clips were up when Darkus would say “Clips up!”. “You got it, boss,” I would reply and then proceed to put clips up. It was a great time.

This next week at HOMtv will mark my first week working on assignments. I am a bit terrified to start working on them and it will definitely push me out of my comfort zone. I hope I can pull it off. It’s comforting to know that I can always go to my fellow interns for help if I need them. I’m going to do my best to produce the best promo I’ve ever produced. Which probably won’t be to hard on account of me having never really made a real promo before. It should be an interesting week. Hopefully I don’t pull my hair out.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Here’s to great week!

 

About austin62

I am a senior at Michigan State University where I will be graduating in December of 2014. My major is Media and Information with a concentration in Radio/TV/Cinema. I am a lover of all things film and television and hope to land a job somewhere in the industry. Working for shows like Breaking Bad or The Office, or working for a station like NBATV or Turner Broadcasting would be a dream. I have come to HOMtv to further develop my media production abilities as well as find out what I enjoy the most about media production. I am originally from Rochester, MI where I attended Oakland University for two years before deciding to make the switch to MSU. I wasn't quite sure I had made the right decision in switching schools. It wasn't until I settled into my major that I began to appreciate what MSU was offering me. I am not sure where I will end up after my time here at HOMtv as well as graduation, but one thing is for sure, I will be doing something that I love.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

