Strictly Business

This week has been a long one, and it’s not even over yet. My internship has definitely kept me busy (10+ hours a day), and my schoolwork on top of that has been a lot to handle. However, I’m SO happy that we have completed all of our evening workshops and that I’m finally able to do some real work!

This week, I didn’t have any story assignments, but I’m reporting live on Monday, June 9, so I was able to do some work for that. I scheduled an interview with the Chief of Police (it went well), and I edited the video and wrote the script for both the anchor and myself.

1483034_10152147038997474_2142727673_n

I’d have to say my favorite part of putting together a news story is definitely the interviewing. It’s the easiest and most fun part for me because I love talking to people, and I love asking questions. My friends probably get annoyed with me because I’m constantly responding to their comments with “why?” and “tell me more.” I’m just a nosey person, and my professors actually  tell me I need to be nosey if I want to be a successful reporter.

1482837_10152402115756096_4479084134870869894_n

I finished everything for my Live Shot on Monday, which I’m really excited about because I now have a few days to prepare. Some people get really nervous to speak live in front of a camera, and I think that’s normal, but I’m glad I’ve had experience with that before. When I work for BTN during the school year, I have to speak directly to a camera without a teleprompter or notecards. It was definitely nerve-racking the first time I spoke live, but as long as I’ve done my research, and I’m well-rehearsed, then I know I’ll be just fine.

Now that the hard part is over, I’m thinking… What will I wear on Monday? Just kidding, kind of.

1601141_10152193274946096_355509694_n

Aside from my internship and homework, I’m excited to go home this weekend. I’m actually going home tomorrow morning, and I have a few fun things planned with my family. It will be nice to relax for a couple of days and prepare myself for my live shot on Monday and another busy week!

Be sure to tune into Meridian Magazine on Monday, June 9 at 6 p.m. for more details from me regarding the Snow Emergency Parking Ordinance.

About marleerosedelaney

Marlee Delaney is a senior in the school of Journalism at Michigan State University, where she is studying broadcast journalism. During the academic school year, she works as a sideline reporter for the Big Ten Network and also writes featured articles for VIM Magazine. With a passion for sports journalism and entertainment news, Marlee can see herself sideline reporting for Fox Sports Detroit, hosting an entertainment show or anchoring a newscast.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

