Have we met?

Hi guys! I have yet to formally introduce myself and I feel like it is much needed since this will not be the last time you hear from me. My name is Coty Kenneth and I am a Chicago native who recently graduated from Michigan State University with a degree in journalism. This summer, I am one of the newest social media interns for HOMTV and I cannot wait to see what is in store for me!

My graduation selfie :)

My graduation selfie 🙂

Now, some of you may wonder why I chose Michigan State. Well, at first I was all about getting as far away from my hometown as possible, so I applied to schools all over the country. When the reality of going away to school kicked in, I soon realized that I did not want to be in Illinois anymore but being able to get back and forth to school with ease was necessary. With all the positive things that I heard about MSU from friends, I decided that I would give it a try and to this day, I do not regret a single second of it.

However, the one aspect of college that I would go back and re-do, is the type of degree I earned. While I do not regret my degree in journalism, I wish I would have figured out what my interests were before I became a senior so that my degree would have reflected that better. Since I cannot go back and change the past, I am hoping that the two internships I have this summer will give me the experience I need to further my dreams of a career in social media and public relations.

Aside from being an intern for HOMTV, I am also a promotions and marketing intern for Common Ground Music Festival, which is based out of Lansing. While most of the promoting has been done through social media, this past weekend, I was lucky enough to go 93.7’s Birthday Bash in Grand Rapids to promote for Common Ground. Even though the internship is unpaid, we get awesome perks, like being able to go to concerts for free, as long as we promote. Anyways, after spending all day at Birthday Bash, my friend Taylor and I decided to leave a bit early to beat the crowd and man are we glad we did that! We met Brett Eldredge! For those of you who don’t know him, he is an awesome country singer and one of his biggest hits is Don’t Ya.

Taylor and I with Brett Eldredge. What a cutie!

Taylor and I with Brett Eldredge. What a cutie!

Along with the numerous concerts I plan on attending this summer, getting to go on vacation is one of my priorities. Whether it be in Michigan or out-of-state, being able to get a away, even if it is just for a little while, helps recenter my mind and body, which puts me in a better mood overall!

These past few weeks at HOMTV have been challenging and rewarding in ways that I could not have imagined. Social media is something that I thought would be easy because I have been using Facebook, Twitter and Instagram since they originated, but I was wrong. HOMTV has taught me how to get the most out of my daily posts and tweets but also how to reach a certain audience based on the news I am sending out. It is definitely fun but I was most certainly mistaken when I thought it would be easy.

Aside from everything school related, I have been employed at Peanut Barrel for about two years now and I absolutely love it. Between my fellow employees and the great customers, I really could not ask for a better place to have a part-time job. Come visit me this summer and have a drink on the par-tio! (Only if you are 21 of course!)

Anyways, I just wanted to give everybody an inside look into what my life is like and I promise you there will be more updates to come!

I’ll talk to you later!

xoxo

Just some of the crazy people at Peanut Barrel that I call family!

Just some of the crazy people at Peanut Barrel that I call family!

 

 

 

 

About Coty Kenneth

I'm a recent graduate of Michigan State University.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

