Tackling My First REAL Assignment

Did you guys hear about the guy who got hit in the head with a soda can? I guess he was lucky that it was a soft drink.

joker gif

Alright, now that we’ve gotten our bad joke out of the way, I can tell you what actually happened to me this past week. Are you ready? Put on your helmet. Fasten your seat belt. Put your tray table up. Keep all arms and legs inside the vehicle. Whatever method of safety you prefer.

First of all, I just need to put this fun fact about me out there. It’s become a habit of mine to type these blogs up at or around 1 am. I’m wondering if my brain is just more creative at this time, or if a tiny bit of slap-happy energy starts to take over, making it easier for me to write. Regardless of when or how I actually write these, I’m glad that I do, because it forces me to reflect on the past week, and I can actually see how much I’ve been learning since I started here.

This week I had to complete a VO/SOT/VO about Smart Commuting and a promo for Vacation Check-In’s. My VO/SOT/VO was going to be due on the Thursday of that same week so it could be shown on Meridian News Now. Needless to say, I focused on that one first. Smart Commute is a program put on by Mid-MEAC, that is all about helping people reduce their carbon footprint, and to make their journey to work a little more environmentally friendly.

I started making phone calls so I could talk to the person who was actually in charge of the program. The woman I wanted to speak with was out sick, but after a few hours of phone tag, I finally scheduled an interview with the outreach coordinator, Brandon Kawalec. I was actually able to set up an interview, which took place right after a meeting that he would be attending. This meeting was all about Smart Commute, and how people can reduce their motorized vehicle transportation. I was lucky enough to be invited to sit in on the meeting, and even shoot some b-roll!

Untitled

I did my interview right after the meeting, and that went very smoothly. However, when I got back to the station to start uploading my footage, I realized that the audio on the interview was horrible. The main mic had been turned down a lot, and I naively hadn’t noticed. I panicked and thought that I might have to re-do the whole thing, but Darkus saved my life and helped me to adjust the audio track.

It ended up being an acceptable finished project, which is better than I hoped for. That being said, I know that I absolutely have to be better next time. And I will. That’s what this internship is for!

I’m not going to talk extensively about my promo because, in all honesty, I am falling asleep right now. This internship is exhausting, but I’m having the time of my life, so it’s all worth it. I will say that Lauren really helped me out a lot with filming for the promo, and for that, I am grateful!

Alright friends, another week, another blog post completed. Thanks so much for listening to my strange ramblings that I have decided to share with you on the internet. Until next time.

Stay fresh.

~Hannah

About hannahtcook

Videographer. Editor. Production intern at HOMTV 21. East Lansing, Michigan.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

