This week from HOMtv was an exciting one! Always staying busy with stories, township meetings and keeping you all updated on social media is always a challenge I enjoy. Let me start out by saying that when I received my stories for the week I was very excited.

HOMtv

HOMtv

 

Covering a story on the addition of an anti-drug medicine called Narcan to be placed in all emergency vehicles made me think about how much drugs negatively affect our society. Talking to the fire chief gave me valuable information for my VO/SOT/VO. You can check it out and learn more about the topic on July’s edition of Beyond The Badge on channel 21.

For one of my VO/SOT/VO's I got to talk to some interesting people from the fire department about an anti-drug narcotic called Narcan, that is going to be kept in all emergency response vehicles.

For one of my VO/SOT/VO’s I got to talk to some interesting people from the fire department about an anti-drug narcotic called Narcan, that is going to be kept in all emergency response vehicles.

For my package, I was assigned firework safety and laws in Meridian Township. With the upcoming festivities that involve fireworks, I knew attaining information would be a breeze. Little did I know, Mother Nature did not feel like cooperating…

Prepping for my standup before the down pour!

Prepping for my standup before the down pour!

B-Roll for this PKG was particularly interesting to get on film, considering you are dealing with fire. Thankfully a fellow intern was around to help with my standup using a sparkler. Check it out below!  

One of the perks of being a reporter is being able to come up with creative standups and use hands-on items 🙂

My PKG this week consisted of firework laws and safety in Meridian Township. I had a blast traveling to different fireworks stores and learning about the different kinds of shells and sparklers that go into an extravagant fireworks display. Can't wait to have a celebration of my own!

My PKG this week consisted of firework laws and safety in Meridian Township. I had a blast traveling to different fireworks stores and learning about the different kinds of shells and sparklers that go into an extravagant fireworks display. Can’t wait to have a celebration of my own!

Lastly, after a lot of hard work, the HOMtv interns hit the town on a night out in East Lansing to get to know one another better. Until next time…

On our night off, we got to catch up and get to know the rest of the rookies better here at HOMtv

On our night off, we got to catch up and get to know the rest of the rookies here at HOMtv.

About sresovsky25

Sierra is a junior broadcast journalism and adverting major with a minor in sales communication at Michigan State University. Previously, Sierra has worked as a news reporter for the IMPACT 89FM and executive producer for the Tony Conley Morning Show on 1320 WILS in Lansing. While at HOMtv, Sierra is looking to gain real-world experience while building lasting relationships in the field. With her main passion being hard news and investigative reporting, Sierra aspires to report for CNN or NBC in the near future. In her free time you can find her somewhere near a lake, at a Tigers game, or going out with friends. If you have any story ideas or suggestions feel free to shoot an email her way.
Link | This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

