I’m A Liar

So.
Did you hear about those two guys that stole a calender? I guess they each got six months.

tumblr_ludpg4w44I1qf2dlx

Oh man. That one was spectacularly horrible, wasn’t it? I’m almost sorry.
Almost.

“So Hannah, why are you a liar?” That’s a great question. If you recall, in my last blog post, I told you that I’ve made a habit of writing these things at 1 am. Well I’m a liar because, surprise, it’s 3 am this time! I think I might be morphing into some kind of nocturnal creature.

This past week was crew week for me, which is always my favorite week. I love being in the control room and setting up for shows. Behind the scenes is really where I thrive. In addition to crew this week, I completed a promo about Vacation Check-In’s. This is  a service offered by the Meridian Township Police Department, which basically allows people to have their homes monitored while they are away on vacation. This is supposed to prevent theft and damage to unoccupied homes. The police department also offers a list of helpful tips to make residents’ homes appear normal on the outside, even if they aren’t home. I expected the promo to be kind of boring, but Lauren helped me film it and it turned out well!

That’s my finished product, if you’re interested in seeing it. Naturally, I would love it if you watched my video. However, if you don’t want to, that’s OK too. I won’t tell anyone.

Getting back to my crew experiences this week.

I had a really solid week as far as learning a lot of new things, and then applying said new things to our shows and meetings. I’ve mentioned before that audio is my one true love, and this week I got to operate the audio for Meridian Magazine. The pace of the show was WAY quicker than I thought it would be, and I ended up making a few little mistakes. I was, of course, embarrassed, but it happens. It was my first time on that show, and now that I’ve done it once, I know what to expect, and I’ll be better next time.

We also had a Township Board meeting, and I had another brand new experience: technical directing. Well, sort of. Bryan continued to make the calls over the headsets, but I was in charge of changing everything on the switcher.

IMG_1461        IMG_1463    I was probably the most nervous for this, but I settled in pretty quickly. The whole experience ended up being a healthy mix of nerve-wracking and exhilarating. I had a good time with it, and I can’t wait to try it again.

The rest of the week was pretty calm, but not without it’s high points. I got to help out a few fellow interns with their stories. First, I helped Lauren shoot some footage at the Harris Nature Center. Aside from being eaten alive by mosquitoes, I think we had a pretty good time.

IMG_1490 We decided that we absolutely had to have a photo together in front of the gigantic mosaic turtle that they have on display. Unfortunately, the size of the turtle exceeded the reach of my arm, so we couldn’t really see the statue in the photo. Oh well, we’re cheesin’ nonetheless.

Later in the week, I also helped Chance set up and shoot some footage at a Lansing Lugnuts game. Being a big baseball fan, that was outrageously fun for me. Everyone on the staff was really swell, and we even got to see some of the game from the press box!

IMG_1556

What a view, huh?

Well this has been a long-winded post. I think I need to stop and catch my breath.

Can I tell you something? I just laughed out loud as I wrote that, because the reality of the situation is that I’m laying in my bed while typing this. No strenuous physical activity was required for this blog post. “Catch my breath”. Psh.

Alright my friends, this is where I leave you. If you made it to the end of this one, I applaud you. And as always, thanks for sticking around for my strange ramblings.

Stay fresh.

~Hannah

About hannahtcook

Videographer. Editor. Production intern at HOMTV 21. East Lansing, Michigan.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

