Nerves are Good: another blog just because

I know I wrote a post Friday for this week, but I felt the motivation to write another post just because. Tonight will mark my first night of Hosting for HOMTV, and the nerves haven’t kicked in yet.

Right when I got in, I pulled up the script, got the interviewee’s name and practiced the script a few times. Needless to say I think I am ready for the challenge and wish I could take it on right now.

I have found throughout my reporting that the longer I have to wait to report, the more nerves I seem to have set in.

I find it interesting that I would rather be thrown into a situation right away then to have to wait for hours on end with anticipation building up.

For the longest time I had hoped the feeling of nervousness would eventually go away forever, but I have grown to realize having them is a good thing.

The way I look at nerves is like this:
By having them, you have some sort of excitement for something. You feel anxious and excited in a good way, and aren’t sure 100% what to expect. I believe nerves are linked to excitement and a persons drive, and shows anticipation for something to come.

I wanted to share this photo with you, which happened to be the very first time I had interviewed somebody on camera.

JORD

I had no clue as to what I was doing, and struggled to begin the interview process. When I pushed through the introduction to the script and began to interview the individual, I became relaxed and the questions began to flow back and forth. My nerves turned to determination, and I completed the interview process and out cue to the best of my ability.

Although at times I struggle to overcome my nerves to this day, I believe that practice in this field will only make a person more confident in their skills, and nerves will eventually become an advantage.

 

About Jordanne Jaskiw

Michigander Gone SoCal, Associate Producer on "Botched S3," "Botched by Nature" and "Botched: Post-Op S2." Recently engaged to an amazing human and my family is absolutely incredible. Catalina Island is my 2nd home and enjoying my life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

