Three.. Two.. One.. Set, Mic and Cue

JJ

Monday marked my first shot at being on-air for HOMTV. That evening, the Planning Commission held a meeting, and my duty was to Host Post Script following the adjournment.

I began by taking notes but slowly found myself getting lost in the information the board was talking about. The first hour went by, and I ran question possibilities through my head to try and come up with the perfect lead in question, but couldn’t come up with one that seemed right.

That was until the “Post Script” interviewee brought up the perfect topic that lead into my first question for later that evening.

During the meeting, Commissioner Tom Deits brought up some issues surrounding a 10-unit townhouse in discussion for possible construction on Chamberlain Way in Meridian Township. His concerns surrounded approval issues and revisions he would like to see done to the plan before construction to the area was approved.

Hearing Deits concerns with the plan intrigued me, and I wanted to know more about his thoughts on it. I wrote a few questions down, and continued to listen to the meeting.

Setting up for “Post Script”

As the meeting adjourned, I walked over, shook Commissioner Deits’ hand and set up my mic. As Daniella began her live stand-up, some nerves began to kick in and I quickly ran the introductory lines to my script through my head.

I heard Daniella say, “Thank you for tuning in, and now over to Jordanne Jaskiw,” and I knew it was go time!

I stumbled on a couple words within my introduction, but pushed through and began my interview questions.

One thing I have learned as a reporter, is to lead with a question or two, but LISTEN to what the interviewee is saying.

It is always good to have questions to ask the person you are interviewing, but in order to dig deeper into a topic, or to have a natural sounding interview you cannot stare at a piece of paper for every single question. Not only is it awkward, but it could potentially make the interviewee uncomfortable and less likely to open up.

As a reporter, you must engage in the conversation, and work to communicate back and forth with the person you are interviewing. Some of the best answers come from ping ponging off of another person’s statements, and the questions you write should only work as a lead into further conversations.

After Deits answered his last question, it was time for my exiting statement.

All day, my biggest fear was forgetting HOMTV’s phone number, but as I turned to the camera to say good bye to the audience, my final words just fell right out.

After everything faded to black, the rush of adrenaline remained, and I knew I was where I should be. I have a passion for reporting, and every time I am in front of the camera sharing information, my heart flutters, and I fall in love all over again.

About Jordanne Jaskiw

Michigander Gone SoCal, Associate Producer on "Botched S3," "Botched by Nature" and "Botched: Post-Op S2." Recently engaged to an amazing human and my family is absolutely incredible. Catalina Island is my 2nd home and enjoying my life to the fullest.
Video | This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

