New and Exciting

I can think of two words to describe almost everything I did this week: “new” and “exciting.”

IMG_7047 IMG_7049

Last Monday I did a live report on Meridian Magazine, which turned out well for my first time. I reported on the new Meridian Township Fire Station bid process.

This was also my second week of assignments. I was assigned to create a package on the high school graduation rates and the 2014 financial outlook. I wasn’t sure what either story was about, so I felt like I got a late start when it came to calling sources (I didn’t start until Tuesday). I called over 13 sources, left them voicemails and emails. I heard back from four. This business is difficult for someone who likes to get things done NOW especially when you have to work around people’s schedules to get interviews. By Tuesday at noon, I was freaking out that I was going to have to change my stories because people weren’t calling me back. Sometimes you just have to give people time. Luckily, I was able to finish both of my stories although the high school graduation rate story got altered a bit. Graduation rates for this year aren’t out yet and won’t be out until sometime next year.

Watch the story below and see how you think it turned out.

Behind the scenes of Beyond the Badge

Behind the scenes of Beyond the Badge

I also got host the July episode of Beyond the Badge. This was very exciting and I hope to be able to do something like this again. What some of you might not know is that Beyond the Badge is filmed in front of a “blue screen.” This means that the person who is hosting can’t wear blue otherwise their shirt will blend in and they’ll be a floating head. I was that person that wore a royal blue shirt not thinking that I’d be in front of a blue screen. It was a good thing that I decided to bring a different shirt (because I’m extremely indecisive when it comes to picking out clothes). Needless to say, I changed my shirt, which I ultimately wanted to wear this shirt anyway so it worked out. I will post a video of a preview of Beyond the Badge later after it airs on TV.

One thing I learned this week is “don’t sweat the small stuff.” Its hard work to be a multimedia journalist or a “one-man band.” It is especially hard when you are staring into the sun and trying to focus the camera on your eyes to do a stand-up. I was in the process of trying to find the best stand-up I recorded when I realized that I actually shot a lot of stand-ups and they are quite funny. So naturally I made a video of most of them (there were a lot more that didn’t make the cut).

About allisonrscott

Allison Scott is a recent Michigan State University graduate with a bachelor's degree in broadcast journalism. She spent two years at the community college in her hometown of Muskegon before transferring to MSU and declaring a major in elementary education. Halfway through her first semester of teacher education courses, she changed her major to journalism with a focus in electronic news. She took three years of broadcast classes in high school and realized that was the career she should pursue. She hopes to be a host or anchor at a large market TV station preferably in entertainment.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

