United States out, Lansing United in

Like I said on my last post, I am not a huge soccer fan.  At least, I was not.

But after beginning my time at HOMtv, I have found myself covering soccer game after soccer game.  Combine that with the United States’ success in the World Cup, and suddenly, soccer has become the primary theme to the start of my summer.

Lansing United

Lansing United walks together after goal

Last Sunday, I had the privilege to report at the Lansing United vs. FC Buffalo match in East Lansing.  United is a fourth-tier Major League Soccer team that made its franchise debut this season.  Already, the team finds itself playing for a playoff bid at 5-2-3 on the year.  I could not help but be enthralled with the match.

Possibly my lack of soccer fandom was due to not having a team to root for.  The World Cup grabs my attention because I can root for the United States.  Of course they got the boot last night, but this time the citizens of the Lansing area won’t wait four years to be interested once more.

Lansing United could be the team that brings not only myself, but thousands of people, into soccer fandom on a year in, year out basis.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

