The Struggle Holiday

I can honestly say I’ve never been so motivated in my life. Normally when it comes to my work I never rush myself or push myself as hard as I am now. And this week, it’s only natural that I blame the holiday. I realize what my issue has been all these years… it wasn’t that I was procrastinating, it was just I wasn’t challenging myself enough. I have always known how to do things quickly so if there was a project due in my class I would know how to finish it the night before and still do greaat on it. Unfortunately for my routine, that does not work when it comes to news… unless you want a really crappy product because 9 times out of 10 something will go wrong when you go to shoot something for the next news show. I’ve forgotten to white balance, brought back overexposed clips, incorrectly framed my subject and even gotten clips where i’m in the shot. Just my luck!

So this week I covered a news story about a new hotel coming to the area.

Working on the hotel story

Working on the hotel story

I think I did a really good job on it. For one I turned it around in 2 days and for a rookie, it think thats pretty cool. The event happened Tuesday and I had a story up that night and it aired last Thursday! #YayMe Next I am covering outdoor eateries in the summer. I did run into a few hiccups during this. A lot of the restaurants and businesses were hesitant to let me film them, but I got what I needed nonetheless. I think some of a the people I was filming associated the press with “being busted” so naturally they were afraid. But I assured everyone that is not what it was about and this segment is about having fun.

Besides what I’m filming, I wanted to take a moment to mention that the last few weeks have been very hard for me! With a job, classes and this internship, I felt myself falling under water but luckily classes ended last Tuesday and I 4.0’d ALL THREE classes talk about hard work!

Now that it’s all over, I’m so happy that I gave it my all and now I have more time to dedicate to my stories! I’m really excited because this is what is going to jumpstart my career and its where I need to be spending more of my time. With more hard work, hopefully I will be invited back next semester where I’ll have more opportunity to add stories to my demo reel.

But anyway… I’m babbling.

Sending peace, love and positive times your way,

xox Whitney

Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later- Og Mandino

About whitneyburney

Hello! I am Whitney, a sister, daughter, friend and an all around silly girl. I am a student at Michigan State University student studying journalism. I am an aspiring journalist and will hopefully be greeting you every morning when I land my dream job at Good Morning America! Stay tuned to read about my journey.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

