Dogs, More Dogs, and FIREWORKS! AMERICA! AWW YEA!!!

Hello everyone. Your friendly neighborhood Brandon is here, the only one at that. So, this past week has been action packed for me. Crew B was tasked with town meetings AND I was giving two assignments. On top of that, I volunteered to help two fellow interns with their own projects. Thankfully, Wednesdays town meeting and Open line on Thursday were canceled, helping to lighten my load. Before I get too ahead of myself, we will start with what I began the week with.

Tuesday morning, I volunteered to help Alexandra Illitch and Hannah Cook with their Senior Living interview at the Cascades Humane Society in Jackson. I helped man the camera and keep our canine companion Tonka from walking into the camera equipment. It was a great experience and I was very glad to be able to help Alexandra and Hannah with their assignment.

Me handling the hand cam and keeping Tonka from running into the 2 shot cam.

Me handling the hand cam and keeping Tonka from running into the 2 shot cam.

Me and Hannah with Tonka.

Me and Hannah with Tonka.

Me and Alex with Tonka.

Me and Alex with Tonka.

Next up on my list of to do’s was the Township Board Meeting. I technical directed and manned camera during meeting.

Moving on to Thursday night, I took equipment home to film the promo I was assigned, which was for Howl at the Moon, a guided hike through the woods at Harris Nature Center with your dog.

Here I am checking out all the equipment.

Here I am checking out all the equipment.

Unfortunately, my actors (dogs) were not cooperative that evening, so the shoot was postponed till Friday morning. TALENT AM I RIGHT!? YEESH! (angry barking from the other room) I DIDN’T MEAN IT!

Moving on to Friday afternoon, I needed to bring the equipment back to headquarters and also upload my footage. This leads to my second side quest of helping Mengxiao with her assignment. She was shooting a promo for a golf event, so I dressed up in my best polo and khakis, dusted off the old clubs, and headed out to the Meridian Sun to hit the greens. It was a nice sunny day and Mengxiao was able to get all she needed.

This leads to the evening, which was the big daddy. My second assignment was to cover the 4th of July Fireworks Celebration in Meridian Township. So I had to wait till 10pm till the fireworks went off. I did not head out to start collecting footage of people till 7pm, so I had a couple of hours to kill in the intern room. I wonder what I did…

Am I really sleeping? Then who took the picture...

Am I really sleeping? Then who took the picture…

Power nap aside, I grabbed a camera, and at 7pm headed out to get broll of all the people showing up and staking claim to prime fireworks viewing areas. I did this for the 3 hours heading up to showtime, and at 10pm, staked my own claim just in front of the Township Municipal Complex. Basically, I was sitting in the parking lot. But I must say, I got quite the view!

Just before the fireworks barrage begins.

Just before the fireworks barrage begins.

Boy did I have a great time watching the fireworks. I saved some footage, so if I get it uploaded to my youtube, I will share it with you guys during my assignment review post. I got the whole fireworks show! Want to know how I felt with my prime spot?

This is how I felt.

This is how I felt.

Anyway, after the finale, I was able to get a great interview with LuAnn Maisner and finish my night up. I headed inside to upload my footage and do some social media.

Working dat social media game!

Working dat social media game!

Overall, I had a great week, and am looking forward to the next. Thanks for reading, this is B-rant signing out!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

