“Take Camera 2, Mic and Cue”

Facebook: HOMTV Aaron Jordan
Twitter: @homtvaaron
The title of this blog actually takes you behind-the-scenes of a HOMTV broadcast. The quote above is what I would have heard had I been on headset during Meridian Magazine’s broadcast. But, rather than being on headset, I was the in-studio reporter for the July 7 Meridian Magazine broadcast, and it gave me an opportunity to improve my on-air skills (and unintentionally provided me with a new profile pic for my Facebook. First world problems).

Let’s rewind to my previous blog post, shall we?

At the very end, I mentioned how Brandie, our internship coordinator, wanted me to work on loosening up on-air. Here’s how I practiced:

IMG_2684
I still don’t like watching myself on video, but at least that helps me get used to it!

This actually worked, although I was forced to try and read my own handwriting after I noticed sentences that needed to be reworded, reorganized or flat-out rewritten.

Fast-forward to the day of the broadcast: I printed my script and began practicing around 4:00, an hour and a half before the show, to allow myself time before the show to relax and prevent myself from over-practicing. Admittedly, I still get relatively nervous before going on live TV, something that practicing too much doesn’t help.

After practicing, I helped with last-minute preparations, received a copy of my script, drank a little more caffeine as a pick-me-up, and then it was time to get into our places for the show. I wasn’t on until the second part of the show, so I took some time to proof my script one last time. And, presto! My new profile picture.

IMG_2689
I didn’t know picture was being taken until after I saw the flash out of the corner of my eye. But at least it makes me look productive!

The second bag came faster than I could’ve imagined. I went and stood by the monitor, got myself mic’d up, did a final test of the mic and had last-minute adjustments done on where I was standing in relation to the monitor, all in under 2:00. I took a deep breath, got a vote of confidence from Alexandra Ilitch and Hannah Cook, and it was time to wait for my cue.

IMG_2688

Much to my relief, it went well! You can view my report here.

After the show, it was time for one more photo!

IMG_2686
From Left: Erica Francis (Sports Anchor), Alexandra Ilitch (Anchor), Joe Gebhardt (Anchor), Yours Truly (Reporter)

I also had my critique with Brandie the Wednesday after the show, and I was happy to hear that I was much better as far as loosening up on-air!

What have we learned here today?

1) I can actually do a blog post without using an Anchorman quote as my title.
2) Not over-practicing = Less nervous Aaron
3) Last minute votes of confidence = Even less nervous Aaron
4) Even less nervous Aaron = Aaron not being too stiff on-air

I was also excited to find out that I will be hosting the next episode of Beyond the Badge! More on that as I get more details.

You stay classy, Meridian Township.

-Aaron

This entry was posted in Meridian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

