A Rewarding Journey One Package At A Time

JJ

Last week I was assigned a story about Hobby Lobby, and how the Supreme Court ruled in favor of their Contraceptive Case.

I was rather excited to get this story, because it was a huge hit in the news.

Although I didn’t know a whole lot about the case myself, I was determined to find out more information, and get as many references into my package as possible.

The story started out with shooting b-roll over in the parking lot of Hobby Lobby. It was then that I stumbled across a curious shopper, and landed my first interview for the story.

I wasn’t sure of the angle I was going to take with the story, until after I talked with my interviewee.

Her name was Sue Boss from Kalkaska, and she was all for Hobby Lobby’s decision to ban certain contraceptive items from their employee insurance coverage plans. Right then and there I knew just the story I was going to tell.

I got back to HOMTV, and asked some of the interns if they knew anyone opposed of the contraceptive case. Aaron Jordan stepped up to the plate, and let me know about his coworker who closely followed the case.

I set up an interview time with Alyse Maksimoski, and continued to try and connect with a local official for a statement.

Connecting with Senator Whitmer and Representative Singh fell short, so I decided to then contact the corporation of Hobby Lobby to see if I could receive an official statement.

A member of the company sent me some press materials, that included the official statement co-founder Barbara Green gave to the public following the ruling.

After already deciding to put a clip of the statement within the video, I decided to create a graphic for my package with a press quote from Senator Whitmer who was opposed to the Supreme Courts Decision.

My package was becoming a reality, and I finally had all of the tools I needed to complete it.

I took a camera after hours to interview Alyse, and went to do my stand up outside of our State Capitol. I was rather upset that I couldn’t get the building in my shot (given the ratio between my body and the height of the building) but being able to be there and shoot it all by myself, was personally a great accomplishment.

Coming back to the studio, I recorded my voice tracks and called it a day.

This package was rather rewarding in the experience I went through to get all of the materials I wanted, and I truly am happy about it.

That’s all for now. Take care.

About Jordanne Jaskiw

Michigander Gone SoCal, Associate Producer on "Botched S3," "Botched by Nature" and "Botched: Post-Op S2." Recently engaged to an amazing human and my family is absolutely incredible. Catalina Island is my 2nd home and enjoying my life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

