Rain Dance

Time is of the essence is a very appropriate phrase to define ones stint at HOMtv. Deadlines quickly approach and it is imperative that you are on top of your assignments or you can easily fall behind.  In the weeks I’ve spent here at HOMtv I have realized that there really is no time to stop and smell the roses.  I came into this internship thinking “Wow, this is gonna be a breeze, every other week off and I only have to come in two days out of the week! Sign me up.” But boy was I wrong.  And honestly, I’m very thankful that I was.

A little sign that hangs on the wall in the bathroom of my childhood home once told me “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

After all these years of staring at that sign, making light of it and taking it for granted, I finally feel appreciative and understanding of its message.  At first I was like “Storm? What Storm? There’s no storm. It’s a nice day out. Dance in the rain? Why would I want to do that? No way, not a chance. You’re not getting me wet.”  Though now I have realized that the storm is really just a metaphor for life’s challenges, big or small and that dancing in the rain does not actually mean you should dance outside while it’s raining, but that you should accept these challenges with a positive outlook and not let them prevent you from doing the so called “dancing”.  Anyway, I guess what I’m saying here is that HOMtv is definitley challenging me in everyway, but I’m learning to role with its punches. In other words, I’m totally dancing in HOMtv’s rain.

With that said, the past week at HOMtv was great. I’m really getting to know a lot of awesome people, and dare I say, am even making friends. I’ve made more friends here at HOMtv in the last month than I have in the last 4 years! How about those apples? I also directed my first meeting last week. Hannah, Alex, and I are the three production interns on Crew A, so from here on out we’ll be mostly directing and technical directing all of the township meetings. That means if you are ever viewing a township meeting and something super weird happens it’s probably because I don’t know what I’m doing! But I am learning and I am only going to get better. You see, this all comes back to that dancing in the rain stuff I was talking about earlier.  Rain dance!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yH1aiviyNyw

About austin62

I am a senior at Michigan State University where I will be graduating in December of 2014. My major is Media and Information with a concentration in Radio/TV/Cinema. I am a lover of all things film and television and hope to land a job somewhere in the industry. Working for shows like Breaking Bad or The Office, or working for a station like NBATV or Turner Broadcasting would be a dream. I have come to HOMtv to further develop my media production abilities as well as find out what I enjoy the most about media production. I am originally from Rochester, MI where I attended Oakland University for two years before deciding to make the switch to MSU. I wasn't quite sure I had made the right decision in switching schools. It wasn't until I settled into my major that I began to appreciate what MSU was offering me. I am not sure where I will end up after my time here at HOMtv as well as graduation, but one thing is for sure, I will be doing something that I love.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

