Assignment Review: Pump Track VOSOTVO and Beyond the Badge Post Production

Last week, I was assigned to post produce Beyond the Badge and also to write a story on the renovations at the EastGate Park bicycle pump track.

I was able to start and finish Beyond the Badge on Tuesday. It was simple, since the show was live to tape in the studio, and all I needed to do was edit out the air time in-between the segments and also the on air mistakes. It took me about an hour to work on.

My vosotvo no the other hand took a lot more work. I contacted the Parks and Rec office on Tuesday via email to find out who was behind the renovations. They then put me in touch with Steven Brunner, the man behind the renovations. I then contacted him, but did get in touch via phone untill Friday. We set a time to meet at the park on Sunday at 1pm. I met him there, and thankfully he brought his son, who rode his bike around the track, allowing me to get some footage of a bike on the track. Steven was great and I was able to learn a thing or two about the park, and get the interview out of the way quite quickly. He even let me ride his sons bike around the track, allowing me to make a fool of myself in the process.

Bad bicycling aside, I was able to get a good amount of broll and my interview. I brought it back to the station and waited till Monday morning to finish it up.

If there is one thing I learned this week, it is to KEEP AHEAD OF YOUR SCHEDULE! I needed to be able to stay in contact with Steven whilst working around my new job schedule at WILX. I also had to sacrifice prime nap time Sunday to get my story done. I may have been tired, but I pulled my big boy pants on and got the job done.

Overall, I was able to finish my assignments on time,  even with the surprise new scheduling conflicts out of left field.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

