In Other News.

Over the last 3 months, I have had, at any given point, at least three jobs. For one period I even had four at the same time. Any while it has been a whirlwind of work, deadlines, and responsibilities I have yet to ever feel worn down or overwhelmed by it. In fact, I have acclimated to it in an almost Stockholm Syndrome way. I feed off of it.

Last week, even with four assignments from HOMTV and it being my first week at a new job at an advertising firm in East Lansing it all still felt a bit slow. And it was weird. I am no stranger to relaxation, and have no problem partaking in it at the drop of a hat, but after last week and a quiet weekend at home I am beginning to be suspicious of my new self.

A small bit of self-diagnosis makes me think I may have all the symptoms of a future workaholic. Now it’s obviously too early to tell, and even I, myself chuckled a bit and rolled my eyes as I wrote that last sentence. But, maybe there is something to that. I have always succeeded most in task-oriented environments where I feel challenged and responsible. In workplaces where I am pretty much only doing gopher work I don’t do as well. I get complacent, and bored, and then I find something else to fill my time and pique my interest.

So I think the trick will be to find a healthy dose of challenging for myself, and then go a little bit past that.

Here be the weekly selfies
af3

af2

af1

About afrankfort1

Alex is a graduate of Michigan State University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and a focus in Creative Writing. Equipped with a background/education in analytics, grammar, and public speaking, he also has a passion for storytelling (in any medium). During his time at HOMTV, Alex hopes to gain a proficient knowledge of production, camera work, and broadcasting.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

