New Arrivals

Did you guys hear about the scarecrow that got promoted? Apparently he was doing really well in his field.

tumblr_inline_mghsipOlfD1rxromd

Do you ever find yourself wondering, “When will Hannah stop telling us these stupid jokes?” Well I’m pleased to inform you that I have a serious answer to your question.

And the answer is never.  I get too much joy from telling bad jokes, and despite your eye-rolling, I know you all probably crack smiles when you read them. I’M JUST TRYING TO MAKE YOU HAPPY, OK?

So. “New Arrivals”. That’s really the only word I can use to describe what went on this past week. Let’s start with my work life.

At the beginning of the week, we (the production interns), were told that we were all responsible for creating new promos for Ballot Meridian. We would have 3 days to complete these promos, and we had to follow semi strict rules to make sure that the promos looked and sounded uniform. Within reason, anyway.

This kind of threw a wrench into everyone’s normal schedules. I had a previously assigned promo that was now going to be pushed back to accommodate the Ballot Meridian promo, which really wasn’t too bad of a situation. But I know a couple of the other production interns had crew that week, so they had a little extra weight to carry. Everyone was willing to help each other out though, and we all made it through! Go team.

Now, I recognize that the whole point of this blog is to talk about my intern experiences, and don’t get me wrong, I love talking about HOMTV. But, I feel that I need to share some personal information with you.

Last Wednesday, July 16th, my first niece was born! My older brother and sister-in-law called me from the hospital at 4:06 am to say that she had been born and was doing well. Her name is Juliette Louise Cook, and she is basically the most wonderful thing that I’ve ever seen.

JLC_TFC_HTC       Juliette Louise Cook_6 hours old_7-16-2014 Isn’t she just the cutest? I actually came in to work at HOMTV before I went to see her, and the whole time I was at the station, the only thing I could think about was getting over to the hospital. When I ended up getting there, she was pretty low-key. She was very quiet and sleepy, so that made holding her pretty easy. She ended up opening her eyes a little bit while I was holding her, so that was cool!

I See You Aunt Hannah  What a cutie, huh? Look at her. A real life, tiny, human being. It’s so surreal. I can’t believe I’m an aunt now! First time ever, so I hope I end up being a good one. I can’t wait to go back and visit her in a few weeks. My family is so happy and excited with Juliette being born, so it kind of overshadowed everything that happened at work this week.

A few other side notes. We’ve set a date to film the next episode of Senior Living, and I’ll actually be learning how to direct it! I’m really moving forward with this project, and I’m excited about it! Also, the interns had a bonding night this past week. It was pretty outstanding. I think it’s a good sign that I can work with these people all week and still want to hang out with them after hours. We were really lucky to have such a good group this summer! I’m going to be so sad when it ends…

Whoaaah. Pump the breaks, kiddo. We aren’t there yet. None of that wishy-washy stuff. Not quite yet.

Oh. One more thing. Yesterday I filmed a promo with Johnny and Lauren. We put Johnny in a squirrel suit. It is just as ridiculous as it sounds. And it’s also 10 times better than you think it is. I can’t wait for you guys to see that.

Well folks, that’s all I’ve got for you tonight. I feel like my levels of sarcasm and snark were pretty toned down in this post, but that’s alright. I’ll endeavor to have the sass back in full force next week.

Y’know, now that I think about it, my new niece is probably turning me into a softy. Oh well. Until next time.

Stay fresh.

~Hannah

About hannahtcook

Videographer. Editor. Production intern at HOMTV 21. East Lansing, Michigan.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

