Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked

Here I thought this week was going to be super crazy, stressful, full of all-nighters AND all-dayers (which it was mainly all day things considering I need sleep or I get really moody). Anyways, shall we reminisce about my week thus far?

If you don’t want to take a walk down my memory lane, then stop reading. Although I promise there will pictures and a video or two.

THIS WEEKEND:

Motorcycles

My dad and I before heading to Muskegon Bike Time

Motorcycle Ride

And we’re off!

I decided to go home for Muskegon Bike Time. Until I get my own motorcycle and can drive myself, or I find someone else’s motorcycle I can ride on the back of, I will ride with my dad. He doesn’t like to go to Bike Time, but does to humor me. What a good guy.

SPOILER ALERT: We got my brother a nice shirt so he doesn’t feel like he missed out since he’s in Georgia.

MONDAY:

Oh Monday, you terrible, terrible day.

I drove back from Muskegon so I could hopefully work on a story package that I have due next week Monday for Meridian Magazine. I went door-to-door shooting b-roll of Democratic candidate, Curtis Hertel, Jr., who’s running for the 23rd District State Senate. It was so hot, I was sweating and dying when I was trying to lug my camera around and get shots from the front and the back.

When I finally got back to my car, my lovely, lovely car, she decided to not start. This isn’t something new. We have a love-hate relationship. After Hertel and his campaign manager tried to figure out the problem, and I phoned my internship coordinator, Brandie, to let her know what was going on, I told Hertel and his manager that I’d be “fine,” “no worries,” “it happens all the time,” and assured them it was fine if they left me there. I then proceeded to call my house, dad’s cell, and mom’s cell numerous times and no one answered. What happened to “make sure you call me when there’s an emergency?”

So naturally, I’m sweating even more now. I’m freaking out. On the verge of crying when finally my mom calls back. Thankfully she knows that if she doesn’t hear me say “hello” after I pick up the phone, it’s because I’m crying. Which I was. And I’m not sure if I was wiping away sweat or tears or both.

Triple A (AAA) said they’d send me a tow truck and I arranged a reservation to get a rental car. Right after my reservation I had a missed call and a voicemail. It was AAA. They wanted to tell me that a tow truck couldn’t come get me anymore.

YOU’VE

GOT

TO

BE

KIDDING

ME

If there was anytime at all during this week that I should have put my “hands in my pockets and take three, deep breaths,” it would’ve been during this moment.

Long story short, I tried starting my car after about an hour of sitting and waiting for a tow truck that wasn’t going to come. It started and I was off. My parents drove from Muskegon to trade me my mom’s minivan for my Escape. Regardless of the soccer mom van that I’m sporting currently, my parent’s are the best.

Facebook post

Parents save the day

TUESDAY:

A headache, no homework, and no productivity. I did watch Pretty Little Liars though to keep my sanity and because I felt as though I deserved it.

Yes, there truly is an excuse for everything.

WEDNESDAY:

This tricky day. I thought I’d be at HOMTV late tonight. Turns out, I got to leave when it was still daylight out. Weird. Something that I haven’t done at all this week.

This morning I finished my package that’s due Monday. You can check it out here. Or simply watch the video below:

I also had my first court reporting experience. I had to videotape the hearing, take notes and live Tweet simultaneously. It was quite the experience. I wrote the story, did more social media and edited my VO/SOTVO within a couple of hours since it is due at 9 a.m. tomorrow. Check out that story here.

THE REST OF THE WEEK:

HOMTV life pretty much all day tomorrow, but I will be heading back to Muskegon tomorrow night.

HOMEWORK, HOMEWORK, AND MORE HOMEWORK.

Take a Midterm. Pick up my brother from the airport. Wedding festivities. And then head back to EL to start another stressful week of assignments and more homework.

There ain’t no rest for the wicked, until we close our eyes for good.

 

About allisonrscott

Allison Scott is a recent Michigan State University graduate with a bachelor's degree in broadcast journalism. She spent two years at the community college in her hometown of Muskegon before transferring to MSU and declaring a major in elementary education. Halfway through her first semester of teacher education courses, she changed her major to journalism with a focus in electronic news. She took three years of broadcast classes in high school and realized that was the career she should pursue. She hopes to be a host or anchor at a large market TV station preferably in entertainment.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked

  1. I know this young woman through her brother Qinn Scott. Kudos to their family! They have done a great job preparing them for life. Both Ali and Quinn are on career paths. They are good people and will have many successes. They both possess true family values! Good luck to Ali! You represent your family well and make them proud.

Leave a Reply

