My home away from HOM

So there was this guy who sent ten puns to his friends, hoping that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. Unfortunately, no pun in ten did.

tumblr_lqrwvsU3zK1qirvmg

That one gets me every time.

So hey guys. How’s it going? I hope you’ve all been well. Doing your laundry and eating your vegetables and whatnot.

I was extremely fortunate this past week, in that I got to leave for a week of vacation on Wednesday. I went up north to my cabin near Traverse City, which, as the title describes, is my home away from home. It’s located on Arbutus Lake, and I’ve been coming here every summer since I was first brought into this world.

IMG_2060

Side note. I am still here, and won’t be back until this coming Wednesday! Scoooore.

IMG_2053

To be honest, it was a little difficult for me to relax at first. I’m so used to running at full capacity at HOMTV, so sitting around reading or swimming and sunning on the dock for a whole afternoon was making me feel a little restless. I know. Hard life, right?

IMG_2062     IMG_2067

I wasn’t lazing around all week though! My family and I took all of Friday afternoon to go on a big kayaking trip. We went 15 miles on the Boardman River, and it took us a little over 5 hours (our lunch break included). Below you’ll find a classic Cook family selfie, and also one of many kayak POV shots from the the journey.IMG_2131      IMG_2140

It was quite the workout, and I was really sore the next day! But it was totally worth it.

Once I get back to work this week, I jump right in on Wednesday with directing a new episode of Senior Living. I put together a crew sheet, and everything should be good to go. I am really pumped to be running the show, and I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

I’ve really enjoyed this week away from the station. I needed to take some time to unplug from the world of media and enjoy life outside of work. That being said, I’m ready to come back. I’ve gotten restless, and I need to do some work again. You could say that I’m itching to get back in the saddle.

Or maybe that’s just the mosquito bites. I’ll see you all on Wednesday.

Stay fresh.

~Hannah

About hannahtcook

Videographer. Editor. Production intern at HOMTV 21. East Lansing, Michigan.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

