Practice makes… Improvement

 10572811_10152671309701096_1543475370_nI feel like I’ve been around the world and back.. not really, but I am finally starting to feel like I’m getting back into a routine after traveling every weekend for the past month. Last weekend, I was in Chicago for the BTN 10K race. Yes, I beat my dad (by 4 seconds). That was my goal the entire time I was running. I also saw some friends, and I spent a lot of time with my family!

10449935_10152667278926096_741136463912756840_nWork at HOMTV is going well this week. I finished a package yesterday just in time for it to air on Meridian Magazine, and today, I shot all of my b-roll, wrote the script and edited the video for my story about road construction that’s due Thursday. I also set up an interview for tomorrow morning, and then I will be finished with that assignment.

BtuM7D8CEAEOu9fEverything is getting a bit easier, and I am able to finish stories in a lot less time. I remember being in class last semester, thinking that a week and a half wasn’t long enough to complete a package. Realistically, as long as my interviews are set up and there aren’t any cancellations, I could finish a package in one day. Thanks HOMTV!!! Just kidding, but it’s definitely helped me work more efficiently, especially because I have to schedule my interviews and editing around not only my schedule, but all of the other interns’ schedules as well because we all share equipment and editing stations. Sometimes I feel like I’m quiet at work, which is unusual for me because I usually always have something to say (whether anyone wants to hear it or not). I just like to use my time very wisely, especially because I have other school work to worry about. Last week, I actually became really impatient when one of the other interns was reeling up the cable after the taping of a show. I literally got down on the ground and took over because it was taking too long. Sorry Chris… I’m the type of person where I’d rather get done what needs to get done at work than socialize. I’ll socialize when it’s finished.

10559272_10152671321921096_1591291048_nSo everything this week has gone really well with my story assignments. I’ll be attending and covering a fundraiser on Thursday, but the final package isn’t due until later next week. I’ll actually be able to go home this weekend, and I’m really excited about that. I have a lot of things that I need to get done, but I’m finally beginning to check some things off of my list!

About marleerosedelaney

Marlee Delaney is a senior in the school of Journalism at Michigan State University, where she is studying broadcast journalism. During the academic school year, she works as a sideline reporter for the Big Ten Network and also writes featured articles for VIM Magazine. With a passion for sports journalism and entertainment news, Marlee can see herself sideline reporting for Fox Sports Detroit, hosting an entertainment show or anchoring a newscast.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

