Reporter in the Making

This week I definitely felt like a reporter. I was assigned two different stories. One was about the medical marijuana legislation that was passed by the Senate Committee earlier this July. The other was a back-to-school package.

Lineman

My Brother the Lineman

The medical marijuana story isn’t due until Thursday, August 7. It will air on Meridian News Now. The back-to-school package is due Thursday, August 14. I knew things would be crazy this coming week with my schoolwork and elections. This next week is also my last week at HOMTV. I won’t be there the following week because my family and I are driving to Georgia for my brother’s graduation from Southeast Lineman Training Center (SLTC). My classes also end that week meaning that I have three final exams to take. Crazy.

Because I was determined to make a significant dent in my stories to avoid being put in an even more stressful situation next week, I called my sources on Wednesday and told them that I was working on a story this week, which technically I was but they just aren’t due for a few weeks. I wanted to finish the stories this past week to avoid that headache and mini panic attack come next Wednesday. I’m not sure if it was luck, my aggressive calling and emailing, if God was on my side or a bit of all three, but I managed to get all my interviews done on Thursday. I even shot a stand-up, but I think I will have to redo it because it turned out blurry…unless my contacts were just severely dried out from being in all day.

I am now in the process of motivating myself to write the back-to-school story. I wish I could have finished it all on Thursday, like an assignment for a daily news program would demand, but I figured that I’d take it easy. When I actually am turning stories in a day, I won’t have piles of homework, papers, and exams to do too…except for Tuesday when we do election stories and turn them that day.

But all I have to say to that is: BRING IT ON!

About allisonrscott

Allison Scott is a recent Michigan State University graduate with a bachelor's degree in broadcast journalism. She spent two years at the community college in her hometown of Muskegon before transferring to MSU and declaring a major in elementary education. Halfway through her first semester of teacher education courses, she changed her major to journalism with a focus in electronic news. She took three years of broadcast classes in high school and realized that was the career she should pursue. She hopes to be a host or anchor at a large market TV station preferably in entertainment.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

