Oh, Boy! Here comes Elections!

Hey everyone! Can you believe I only have a week and a half left?! Me either! It seriously scary how fast the time has been passing. Not only is the summer over but I’m heading into my junior year of college.

It has been a stressful week for me. I had a bit of work at the station. This week I got two stories. One was about one of the oldest bars in the East lansing area closing and the other was a feature story on an elections official. I had a rough time with both for different reasons.

For the first story, I wrote about a bar that was of the first in East Lansing, LITERALLY. When most people think of East Lansing, they think college town AKA LOTS O BOOZE AND CRAZY KIDS. I found out that wasn’t always the case. After interviewing Peter Menser from Meridian Township, I learned that after prohibition all the way through about the 60’s east lansing was a “dry” city and one of the only places in the area to get alcohol was the Tavern which is now closed. The only reason the story was difficult was because the owners did not want the story in the media in any way! When I called to ask about the restaurant the owner declined to do an interview and said they also did not want me to film the outside. Luckily I was able to still get video of the outside and an interview with insight on the bar’s history. I felt bad for still showing up with my camera but a reporter’s gotta do what a reporter’s gotta do!

My second story was planned to be a feature on one of the elections officials. It took me a total of 4 days to contact him. I called his office twice a day and even sent multiple emails. BOY! Do elections keep people busy?! I finally got in contact with him and will be interviewing him on election day! We’ll see how that one turns out, I’m nervous.

I also had to finish up my competency exams which I’m still not done with.

And on top of that I had to move out of my apartment and am now staying with one of my “HOMies”. So my stress has been at an all time high but it’s almost over.

It’s very bittersweet. I really can’t believe the entire summer is already over. I feel like I haven’t done enough yet. Now the only question is… Will I be invited back? Hmmm! Stay tuned, I’ll let you know. No matter the outcome, I am looking forward to what the future holds!

Here’s a look back at the semester.

Screen Shot 2014-08-04 at 4.55.18 PM

Screen Shot 2014-08-04 at 4.55.56 PM

Screen Shot 2014-08-04 at 4.56.39 PM

Facebook update post!

IMG_6738
Until next time sending peace, love and positive vibes your way,

xoxo Whitney

Never stop. Never stop fighting. Never stop dreaming.- Tom Hiddleston

About whitneyburney

Hello! I am Whitney, a sister, daughter, friend and an all around silly girl. I am a student at Michigan State University student studying journalism. I am an aspiring journalist and will hopefully be greeting you every morning when I land my dream job at Good Morning America! Stay tuned to read about my journey.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

