Too much to handle and too hard to say goodbye.

As I sit here at HOMTV and reflect on my semester thus far, I can’t believe I only have a week and a half left.

I still remember the first day at HOMTV meeting everyone and immediately knowing this summer was going to rock. I remember getting assigned our first fake story on the “new dog park” and freaking out about how I was going to put the story together. Look how far I’ve come!

homtv cover10437448_10152242875321314_5887089825176659915_n

This summer has been incredibly challenging, there have been ups, and there have been downs, but most importantly, the stories and memories I have created here have topped anything I ever could have imagined.

10402455_10152117119326314_204451978505469979_nMe10491192_10152474427826276_6329590524001169813_n10502030_10152249180021314_4165049805451218681_n

This internship has taught me a lot about reporting, shooting, and editing. Prior to HOMTV, I had 4 other internships. But none of those internships gave me the hands on experience that I was able to have at HOMTV.

Through failing, I learned how to report better, how to shoot better, and how to edit a story together.

Sure, going back to school is going to be fantastic, but I will always miss telling stories for Meridian Township and interacting with my fellow interns.

But it’s not goodbye, it’s just see you later.

But these goodbyes aren’t the only thing on my mind.  I am currently dreading the long, sleepless day ahead of me. Tonight I will be at the station until 10 P.M learning all I need to know about how to report during an election.

Then tomorrow I will be waking up at 3:30 A.M, with maybe 5 hours of sleep, then I have to get ready to go shoot my package starting at 5 A.M , YES that is A.M. you are seeing.

But to say the least, I am excited to do this Election Precinct Chairman story tomorrow, it will be really fun covering a fast-paced moving story.

Although I’m going to be one sleepy, sleepy girl I will still find the motivation to have a kick-booty story and I can’t wait to share it with all of you!

Thanks for reading! Until next time.

About ericafrancisnews

My name is Erica Francis. I am a student at Central Michigan University looking to live out my dream as a news reporter. I grew up in Holland Michigan, but I have traveled the world. My favorite quote "Dreams don't work unless you do" Motivated. Dedicated. Hardworking. Lover. RiskTaker I won't stop until I reach the top. Lover of singing, dancing, acting, interviewing, and smiling. Past intern at --- City of Holland TV 95.3 WCFX Mt. Pleasant Fox 2 News Ignition Media Group Next stop....L.A
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

