Almost there, champ!

This is CRAAZZZYYY! Our internship is almost over and honestly I’m running out of stuff to write about.

Last week was election week and Jordanne and I were sent on a road trip to Clarkston, Michigan. Well not really a road trip because it was only an hour away but you know what I mean. We were assigned covering the 8th district congress (R) race for candidate Tom Mcmillin.

According to the polls our candidate was set to lose but Jordanne and I were hoping for an upset, not because of opinion but for the sheer excitement and adrenaline we would get from being the only reporters on the seen.

When we got there it was around 8:20. We spent an hour doing live Skype interviews as well as talking with the candidate and his supporters. It was fun. I had a minor hiccup when we realized that the person I was assigned to interview did not exist

tumblr_mkhednW7ES1s3ooaco1_250

Turns out McMillin didn’t have a campaign manager and had done all campaigning himself. I ended up interviewing an interested supporter who shared his opinion. He was great.

Then we were headed to the Oakland County Clerk’s office to Skype in with results… Unfortunately the directions that we had and the address we were given wouldn’t work!!! We drove around for about an hour trying to find the place and NOTHING!!! It made no sense. The place was only supposed to be 15 minutes away and somehow we still couldn’t find it. It likely didn’t help that it was pitch black outside and we were in an area we had no recognition of.

After not bing able to find the office for about 30 minutes we began to head home a little after 11. We finally made it back to HOMtv and I realized that night how cool my fellow interns are and it made me kinda sad that the internship is coming to an end so soon.

It literally seems like just yesterday we were shaking hands and saying nice to meet ya as we began making those silly dog park stories.

I can honestly say I will miss everyone of them and I hope we all remain friends.

Until next time I’m sending love, peace and positive vibes,

xox Whitney

So be sure when you step, Step with care and great tact. And remember that life’s A Great Balancing Act. And will you succeed? Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and ¾ percent guaranteed) Kid, you’ll move mountains. -Dr. Seuss

About whitneyburney

Hello! I am Whitney, a sister, daughter, friend and an all around silly girl. I am a student at Michigan State University student studying journalism. I am an aspiring journalist and will hopefully be greeting you every morning when I land my dream job at Good Morning America! Stay tuned to read about my journey.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

