So long, summer

No bad joke this week guys. I’m serious. I won’t fake you out like I did a few posts ago. I’m feeling a bit too emotional this time for the funny stuff.

First thing’s first. I had a tonsillectomy this morning. So I’m sitting here writing this with an incredibly sore throat, and since I’m taking painkillers, I’m never really sure how long I can stay awake. Hopefully long enough to finish this post. My surgeon told me that sometimes the anesthesia makes people extra emotional for a day or two post-surgery. Perfect time to write my last summer blog post, huh?

IMG_2360    IMG_2359 Here are two pre-op shots of me this morning, courtesy of my mom. Woo for hospitals! The procedure took about two hours in total, and I got to go home that afternoon. Not too bad. Hopefully my recovery is quick and relatively painless.

Now for the sappy stuff.

This was our last week at HOMTV for the summer. How the months have flown by! I still remember coming in for our workshops in May, and thinking that sitting in the studio for 3-4 hours was a long time. Which, in theory, I guess it is. But I was pulling double digit days at the station this last week without batting an eye, so now we see how far I’ve come.

I will never be able to fully describe how grateful I am for the opportunities presented to me at this internship. I learned so much about my work ethic, whether it was in a situation in which I had to cooperate with a group of people, or simply cooperating with myself. I’ve come to realize which circumstances I perform best in, and what I still need to do to push my comfort zone. These things are incredibly important to me, because I feel that this self-realization will propel me forward in the industry.

On the mushy and gushy side, I’ve made so many new friends, and I’m going to miss everyone so much.  I’ve developed some truly outstanding relationships and connections through this internship, and that puts a big, goofy smile on my face.

DSC_1934  Although a lot of us are coming back in the fall, we won’t spend nearly as much time together, which is a bummer. But I’m not worried. We’ll keep in contact. Y’all can’t get rid of me that easily. (cue the muffled groans of people who thought they were free of me).

You can’t see me, but my eyes are watering a little bit. Gosh, I really thought I was going to be able to keep myself from being sad when I wrote this. I need someone to cheer me up. Maybe throw a lamp at me so I can….lighten up.

tumblr_inline_mgb9sriFap1r229ud (I’m sorry, I’m such a lair. I couldn’t resist)

Well now, you fabulous people. It’s been real. I don’t know how many of you actually read these posts, but I’ve had a fabulous time writing them and keeping you up to date on my intern experience. Thanks for listening!

I love my HOMies, and won’t be forgetting the memories I made here any time soon. Best summer ever.

Stay fresh.

~Hannah

About hannahtcook

Videographer. Editor. Production intern at HOMTV 21. East Lansing, Michigan.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

