There’s no place quite like HOM

You know that old saying that time flies when you’re having fun? Well that turned out to be most definitely true for me this summer. It seems like it was yesterday where I eagerly walked into the municipal building not exactly sure what will come from this internship. New friends? New knowledge? A step closer to my dream? I was nervous, excited and eager to see where this summer would take me, and now that it’s over, I’m more than satisfied with the results.

With so many interns, I never expected to become close with more than a few. I thought that we would all be competing against each other, you know the way people always say the real world is. I figured, we would easily step over each other for our own benefit. That we would be selfish with time on the five working computers and only look out for ourselves. I was clearly wrong. Over the past few months, I’ve gotten pretty close with almost everyone at HOMTV. The limited space in the intern room forced us to get close with each other, both in a literal and figurative sense. We would hang out after work, organize intern night outs and a few ended up practically moving in with me for a few weeks. Instead of stepping over each other like I thought it would go, we picked each other up in time of need, we connected with similar problems (mostly being poor), and became HOMies in the process. For those who aren’t coming back, I wish them all the luck but I know they’ll do awesome things one day, and for those who are retuning, I am more than looking forward to another semester.

 DSC_1934

As far as my experience goes, HOMTV has taught me so many things that will ultimately help me reach my dreams. Often times, I’m known to be a huge procrastinator and HOMTV helped me get that in check. I’ve realized that with hard works comes great outcomes. I am nowhere close to being the reporter I want to be but I’m so much closer to that person than when this internship began. Even though I’ve worked in news for years, HOMTV was my first experience outside of MSU classes where I got hands on experience in broadcasting. From putting together packages, to live reports and hosting, HOMTV gave me the opportunity to dabble into a bit of everything, which is helping me become the well rounded journalist I aspire to be.

election

Even though I never did go on any big trips this summer as I normally do, or that I was shamelessly poor with this internship, I would do it all over in a heartbeat. I learned so much, met so many great people and took a few steps closer to my dream. I want to thank the staff for taking a chance with me as a rookie, and teaching me their knowledge of the industry. This has by far been one of my best summers yet, and I can’t wait to come back in the fall as a junior. There really is no place like HOM.

no place like hom

About jonesapril92

April Jones is a senior at Michigan State studying broadcasting journalism. She aspires to be an entertainment and or political reporter in her near future. In her free time, she enjoys attending concerts with her friends, baking, and anything outdoors. Her dream would be to convince The Rolling Stone that they need her to start an on-air entertainment show featuring her. Eventually she would love to host her own daytime show. "All dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them." - Walt Disney.
Image | This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

