Greetings from California and Farewell as a Rookie

This post is a little late given my being in California but I wanted to give a few thoughts on how the summer semester at HOMTV went. I can honestly say that HOMTV has been the best internship experience I have ever had. 

Not only have I created lifelong friendships, but I now, more than ever have the confidence to pursue a reporting career, and have officially fallen in love with the news world. 

There has always been a little occasional voice in my head that questions if I am doing a story right, or developing my stories in the proper way. Every now and then I second guess myself, and it wasn’t until this internship that I finally feel that I am on the right track. 

There is one story in particular I worked on at HOMTV that let me know I am pursuing the correct career path for me. 

Earlier this semester, I covered a story on Pat Cannon, a gentleman who has been appointed to an Access Board by President Obama, and is working to further develop opportunities for individuals living with disabilities. 

But what is the twist here? Pat Cannon happens to be blind, and lost his vision completely shortly after becoming legally blind at age 14. 

But there is another twist to the story here. Pat Cannon’s wife is also blind, and they happened to raise five children over the years. 

This story to me was truly remarkable, a couple both living a fulfilled life, and not letting a disability keep them from accomplishing their dreams and inspiring others. 

After leaving their home, I was driven to tell their story to the best of my ability, and make them proud of my work. 

A couple of weeks later Pat Cannon and I connected via the phone, so I could send him the link to the story. It was to my surprise that he emailed me a few days later with the most heartwarming email I could have gotten. 

Not only did he love the story, he was completely happy with my work, and thanked me for how I did the story and interacted with the two of them during the interview process. 

Hearing how excited someone was for me to tell their story, and as a rookie reporter to hear that I did a tremendous job on it has not only inspired me, but is pushing me to try to better my work, and help tell stories as best as I can. 

I want to thank everyone at HOMTV for allowing me to discover my passion even further, and to have given me the opportunity to make someone feel good about a story I have told for them. 

I want to thank all of my fellow interns as well. I see talent in every single one of us, and I cannot wait to see where we all take it. Love you all. 

See you later for now. 

 

About Jordanne Jaskiw

Michigander Gone SoCal, Associate Producer on "Botched S3," "Botched by Nature" and "Botched: Post-Op S2." Recently engaged to an amazing human and my family is absolutely incredible. Catalina Island is my 2nd home and enjoying my life to the fullest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

