Interns Log: Junior Status

It has been a little more than three weeks since I have obtained my junior status and a little more than a couple months since I’ve written a blog post.  It is an odd feeling being back.  Summer vacation was only one week! And now I’m back on the grind.  Juggling HOMtv assignments/township meetings paired with my college classes/assignments has proved to be a difficult task.  If I’m not doing one, I’m doing the other.  I am in the midst of taking the final 12 credits of my college career, so it is especially important to stay on the ball.  December can not come quickly enough.  It’ll be interesting to get out in the real world, finding a steady job will be challenging but I feel with the experiences I’ve gained at HOMtv that I am better prepared for the wars ahead.  I’m getting ahead of myself.

I’ve noticed being a junior at HOMtv has a different feel to it than being a rookie.  You feel wiser, like a middle aged dog whose keen to all the tricks.  Rookies are young pups, just excited to be there, but taking awkward first steps.  I see some familiar faces but there are plenty new ones as well.  There are a lot of holdovers from the past class of interns and some have gone on to other things.  Getting to know the new crop of interns has been interesting.  I feel like we’ll get along just fine, as long as they don’t talk to me or look me in the eye.  Just kidding! It’ll be fine.  I’ll be nice to them.  I guess.

Anyway, that’s all for now.  Stay tuned for more blogs!

Look! I’m the big dog and the smaller dog is a rookie intern!

About austin62

I am a senior at Michigan State University where I will be graduating in December of 2014. My major is Media and Information with a concentration in Radio/TV/Cinema. I am a lover of all things film and television and hope to land a job somewhere in the industry. Working for shows like Breaking Bad or The Office, or working for a station like NBATV or Turner Broadcasting would be a dream. I have come to HOMtv to further develop my media production abilities as well as find out what I enjoy the most about media production. I am originally from Rochester, MI where I attended Oakland University for two years before deciding to make the switch to MSU. I wasn't quite sure I had made the right decision in switching schools. It wasn't until I settled into my major that I began to appreciate what MSU was offering me. I am not sure where I will end up after my time here at HOMtv as well as graduation, but one thing is for sure, I will be doing something that I love.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

