Four Weeks In, Feeling Right at HOM.

Man, I bet nobody’s made that pun yet!

As a senior at Michigan State, I was panicked that I’d never find an internship before I graduated. Finishing a four-year degree in journalism with very few connections was a bad, bad way to start a career. If I couldn’t find anyone who I would pay to work for them, well, the opposite wouldn’t be any more likely.

And yet, here I am. HOMTV. Picked me off the mean streets of East Lansing for a chance at television production. They didn’t warn me that the next month would be the most chaotic, intense, hippocampus straining of my life. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

The sheer number of techniques, rules and guidelines to production and reporting was hard enough. I learned how to check out camera equipment. I learned how to least annoy the staff when asking to take exams. I learned that FibreJet is easily the worst, most confusing computer program of all time. I learned things that would take too long for me to write about, or things that I’m pretty sure I still don’t understand.

My brain is rotting into a mush of HOMTV jargon. I’ve spent more time in the last two weeks in the intern room than I’ve spent in my bed.

This post may be generic on all levels, and written with a slightly different vernacular by every sleep deprived rookie who’s walked through these doors. And if so, add me to the ranks. Because those people are juniors now, those people who I’ve been barraging with questions so often I’m shocked they can have any time to get work done. Those people who are doing the same things I am, with more confidence and a calmer demeanor. It’s impressive, and they’re the reason the majority of rookies aren’t curled up in the fetal position in the noise room.

So thank you juniors for your help. Thank you staff for everything you’ve tried to teach me that I’ve forgotten. And thank you rookies for being with me to trudge through this mass of work together. We’re part of a family now. Part of a HOM.

..wow. I’m so lame.

About Richie Cozzolino

Riccardo (Richie) Cozzolino is a Michigan State University graduate with a Journalism degree and a specialization in broadcasting. He is from the Metro Detroit area and graduated from the University of Detroit Jesuit High School in 2011. His love of Detroit sports (and sports of all kinds) sparked his interest in sports journalism. He is looking for jobs in sports broadcasting, especially in radio. Hobbies include learning and eating.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

