We out here!

We’ve talked about it, we’ve dreamt (had nightmares) about it, but now we’re in it.

It’s 2 hours into Election Night coverage and everyone was right. It’s a nuthouse. Visions of  my coworkers happily stuffing their faces with Marco’s Pizza, Craving’s Popcorn and Buffalo Wild Wings (shoutout to the food sponsors, we’re all feeling full and happy) and giggling over snapchats we were sending when were sitting next to one another- feel like a distant memory. Everyone’s scattered throughout Michigan, calls and messages are coming in left and right and everyone has a very focused intense look on their face.

Election Night training, or better known as "scare the rookies" night.

Election Night training, or better known as “scare the rookies” night.

But they were right about another thing-it is by far the best and most fun experience of our internship thus far.

Although it is long and nerve wracking, I think it is bringing out the best out of all of us. When you are broadcasting live for such a long period of time, especially about something as important as election results, you have to abandon all fear of “not being perfect” in order to properly to our jobs and inform the public as quickly as we receive information. For example, I’m a social media intern and sometimes I pick at my posts and plan out my tweets to make sure they’re informative but in a relatable voice. But when you’re live and don’t know what the information is going to be, you can’t plan. It made me realize that I’ve learned a lot and have been trained well enough that my instincts are good and I don’t need to strain and preplan everything.

Another great example is junior intern Coty Kenneth. Tonight she is live on camera for the first time, on HOMTV’s biggest night. And she’s crushing it.

67313_10154847636010118_687034208891351305_n

Although Coty and I haven’t had the chance to work together that often, I know she is a social media rockstar. I follow her work and try and learn as much as I can because like I said, she’s really good. That is why none of us were surprised when she was picked to replace our former media assistant on camera in our Social News desk. But us social media people do our work behind a computer. I had to be on camera last night just testing everything for Coty and I was horrified looking into the camera lens. And even though she was nervous, you would never be able to tell she was just thrown into this position.

And when I watch my fellow rookie interns Skype in an interview or operate a camera like a seasoned vet, it makes me think that maybe all the times we claim to be clueless, deep down we may actually know exactly what we’re doing.

Check out some photos of us covering Election Night 2014:

Twitter pic from rookie production intern Eric Morrow at Becker's Brewery in Brighton covering the the 11th and 8th district republican representatives.

Twitter pic from rookie production intern Eric Morrow at Becker’s Brewery in Brighton covering the the 11th and 8th district republican representatives.

Senior Production Manager, Rob Gingerich-Jones getting Communications Director, Deborah Guthrie ready to report all of the election results.

Senior Production Manager, Rob Gingerich-Jones getting Communications Director, Deborah Guthrie ready to report all of the election results.

DSC_0386

Paid Production intern Bryan Schroeder doin his thing

About kiarafs

Senior, Spartan, AXO, HOMTV.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

