Election Coverage

Alright, here is a real blog post.

Election night was one heck of an experience.  I mean honestly, I learned so much and met some amazing people along the way.  I also voted for the first time myself, which was a rewarding experience.  I learned a lot about containing your own opinion and coming across as an unbiased reporter.  I had to maintain composure when interviewing voters outside of their precincts, even when I didn’t agree.  I learned that this region is extremely democrat, and after interviewing outside of precinct locations and hearing Schauer Schauer Schauer, I became extremely worried about the election outcome and immediately bolted to my polling location to cast my ballot for Snyder.

I covered the Democrat candidates at Pizza House in East Lansing, and even though I voted for Mike Bishop and was excited to hear he won, I still had to maintain composure and interview his opponent Eric Schertzing.  I feel like majority of students our age and most journalism majors are Democrat.  My whole life I’ve grown up around conservatives, as well as most of my friends.  I’d say about 90% of my fraternity voted Republican.  So it is nice to go out into the world and gather different perspectives.

I also enjoyed watching the Ballot Meridian debates and becoming an informed voter.  I listened to the candidates and made an educated decision rather than just voting for the Republican.  I even voted for a few democrats, such as Hertel and Gary Peters.  Not that I completely agree with their viewpoints, but I believe they are the best people to do the job.

Welp, I don’t really know how to end this… so I guess I just say bye?

About brettkast

I am a junior at Michigan State University pursuing a degree in Journalism with a specialization in Sports Reporting. I am currently a Reporter at HOMTV, and before that I worked at Impact 89FM Sports, a student run radio station as the Michigan State Baseball beat reporter and Co-Host of the baseball podcast. My dream is to become a Sports Reporter at a local news network and work my way up to ESPN.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

