The Beginning of the Beginning of the End.

What, we’re already in November?

How?

Without a doubt the shortest, quickest semester of my college career. Moreover than that, the shortest year in my life. Nothing has flown faster than year 21. I rarely remember our little New Years’ Eve get together every year. In 2014 it feels like that party was last week.

-Sorry you weren’t invited by the way. We had an awesome game of tag while the adults drank margaritas. You missed out.

Normally at this point in the year I’m freaking out about my grades and whether I’ll pass any of my classes. This year isn’t exactly the case. It’s more about worrying whether I’ll have a job in the Spring, paid or unpaid. Where will I live, what class am I taking, will I have an income, will I have a future.

You know, just the normal, “20-something kid freaking out about his life” cliche.

Boring, really. It’s fun to be nervous and excited about something at the same time. HOMtv definitely cemented my place in journalism and broadcasting and relayed to my all-too-small brain that, yes, I do like what career path I’m on. And yes, broadcast journalism is so much better than print. Sorry New York Times. HOMtv has you beat.

Otherwise, goals are getting to that junior status before the staff here realizes I’m completely incompetent. So far, I think I’m on the right track. I hope I can look back in 20 years and smile about where I started, right here in Meridian Township.

For now, I need to figure out where I’m going. It’s the beginning of the end. But for my career, the end is only just the beginning.

Cliche.

About Richie Cozzolino

Riccardo (Richie) Cozzolino is a Michigan State University graduate with a Journalism degree and a specialization in broadcasting. He is from the Metro Detroit area and graduated from the University of Detroit Jesuit High School in 2011. His love of Detroit sports (and sports of all kinds) sparked his interest in sports journalism. He is looking for jobs in sports broadcasting, especially in radio. Hobbies include learning and eating.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

