“Thanks for watching Meridian Magazine…wait, what’s my name again??”

So there are a couple of things you should know when you’re on live TV…

1) Anything can happen
2) When that “anything” happens, you have to roll with it

Let’s just say those lessons were reinforced on the last Meridian Magazine, and I’m excited to tell you that I will officially be making an appearance in the end-of-the-year blooper reel.

At the end of each show, after the sports anchor (in this case, Daniella Bruce) tosses the show back to Brandie and I at the desk, I’m supposed to thank Daniella, and remind viewers that we are always online at homtv.net, and that they can check us out on Facebook and Twitter. This part of the script was added recently, and, the first show it was in, I forgot to mention it.

So, for this show, I was determined to say that part, and throughout Daniella’s sports report, I was thinking “Remember social media. Don’t forget social media.” Good news: I remembered to say it. Bad news: I forgot to say another very important part of the tag. I’ll just let the clip speak for itself (in the words of Jon Stewart, “ROLL 212!”)

Yes, it is entirely possible to forget to say your own name.

Anyone who goes on-air will tell you that they’ve had their share of bloopers, and I’m no different. But this is by far my favorite, and by far the hardest I’ve laughed after it happened. Let’s recap in pictures…

Screen Shot 2014-11-18 at 8.49.24 PM
The moment I realized what I forgot to say

Screen Shot 2014-11-18 at 8.45.40 PM
“Well, that just happened”

Screen Shot 2014-11-18 at 8.47.43 PM
“I’m never gonna live this one down. I just hope I don’t fall out of my chair laughing.”

Rob Gingerich-Jones, our senior production manager, who, unfortunately, is leaving us after this week, walked into the studio while Brandie and I were still doubled over laughing and said “You know, it’s moments like this that I’m going to miss about this job.” He definitely had a point, because not only was the moment hilarious, but also the fact that we had to wait a few minutes after the show was over for Brandie to do the topical promo because we were both laughing so hard.

Speaking of Rob, I would just like to give a shout out to him and thank him for everything he’s done for me and taught me while we have worked together. His ability to make everyone laugh and his knowledge of broadcast are incredible, and being able to learn from him has been a truly valuable experience. Best of luck in your new job at the University of Michigan!

And, as is tradition, here is a clip from Anchorman to end my post. This may not have been exactly what happened in my situation, but, hey, at least he was questioning what his name was.

You stay classy, Meridian Township.

-Aaron

This entry was posted in Meridian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

