I’m finally blogging!

Hello Everyone!

I’ve been a very naughty intern since I was supposed to do this a while ago! You may have seen me on TV a few times by now but in case you haven’t, I’m Nick and I’m one of the reporters. There aren’t enough words to describe how awesome my experience has been here this semester but this week was particularly interesting since I got to take on a pretty challenging story.

I’ve covered a lot of tough stories both here and when I was an intern for Capital News Service but this story was definitely one of the hardest stories I have ever covered.

It was a story about a scientific study that analyzed the human aspects of wolf management in Michigan. I really thought I escaped the torture of reading scientific literature when I switched my major to from biochemistry to journalism, but that was an unrealistic expectation. As journalists we have to explore a variety of subjects in depth. That’s our job because no one else has time to do it. If we didn’t, some of the most important information to our community could easily go unnoticed. Yes it took me HOURS to read the study (on top of all of the hours it took to shoot/edit the news package) and yes it was torture, but it was interesting. I got to meet the author Meredith Gore and had a very interesting interview with her where we talked about obstacles scientists have in communicating information to policy makers. Would I do it again? Absolutely, as tortuous as news can be sometimes, the stress is addicting.

On a less serious note, I also got to cover a story about Blondie’s Barn in Haslett. This is the second year they are planning to host a free lunch on Thanksgiving. Although the event targets people who don’t have a place to go, the owner said anyone is welcome to go.

This is not an advertisement for Blondie’s Barn by any means whatsoever but speaking of the owner, Dawn Manuel, I thought she was very friendly and had a great sense of humor. She offered me a free caramel latte and I told her it was unethical to accept free gifts from sources, but she shoved it in my hand and said “psshhh its just a coffee.” It’s kind of freaky how much she reminded me of a family friend back home (I’m talking about you Kirby!) I’m not going to say what I thought about the coffee* because that would be unprofessional.

It was nice getting to tackle a soft-news story like this especially after the wolf-hunting story. It was kind of like desert after a meal (aren’t I witty?)

Other than that my whole week has just been filled with class and editing. I’ll spare you the boredom of those details by leaving them out.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I look forward to posting more!

–Nick

*jk, it was absolutely delicious 🙂

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

